yuri1993

Power supply problems (too many amps)

Sun Nov 17, 2013 3:38 pm

I'm new to electrical so everyday I'm learning something new, I recently switched from using motor drivers to using transistors to controlling my motors and through this I think I've found a problem with my power supply.

My power supply is 13.5v dc and 1.0 amp but when i put it through my transistor set up I only get about 180ma (and the drill doesn't run). When I connect the power supply directly to my motor I get a reading of about 3 amps from my power supply from the voltimeter.

I'm at a lost as to why my power supply is giving any less or anymore than 1amp of current, is it a bad power supply?

here is my schematic everything is the same except it is a pi connected to gpio 18 instead of an arduino, the diode is a 1N4001

redhawk

Re: Power supply problems (too many amps)

Sun Nov 17, 2013 3:52 pm

What happens when you short C and E of your transistor, as well as B and C ??

Richard S.

karlkiste

Sun Nov 17, 2013 4:02 pm

The power supply tries it's best to keep the output at 13.5V. It gives the current it is asked for. If the motor asks for 3A, 3A will be running until the power supply switches off or dies. The power supply could reduce the current by reducing the voltage, but that's not its job. The supply is fully OK, based on what you're writing.

FLYFISH TECHNOLOGIES

Sun Nov 17, 2013 4:06 pm

Hi,
yuri1993 wrote:I'm at a lost as to why my power supply is giving any less or anymore than 1amp of current, is it a bad power supply?
Information about Current for your Power supply is the maximum current the device is capable to supply (in the long term and within specification). The number means that your device was designed to provide up to 1A.