abstract

Re: First 'C' Hello World Program on Raspberry Pi

Sat May 05, 2012 3:32 pm

Hi Folks.

Just some feedback for all on the experience writing my first C code on Raspberry Pi.

I am a very experienced programmer and electronics engineer, but I have no experience with Linux, so its an interesting ride.  Here is how it played out on day 1.

Getting the hardware up and running was OK with the downloaded image from the site. However I am on Mac OSX and I ended up having to manually enter the parameters into dd to write to the SD card (had never used dd before...).  The script mentioned didnt work properly to do that. However, all good and everything booted OK eventually.

Next, I plugged in the Apple keyboard with its mouse connected into the keyboard.  No Good.  Seems like that's too much power.  So connected the keyboard and mouse seperately.  After a few tries that works OK although repeated keystrokes happen now and again.  A lower powered keyboard and mouse are probably in order, dont really want to go to a powered hub just for that.

Next, my language of choice is straight procedural C, and I want to program the Raspberry PI using POSIX type code if possible.

I see that Geany is pre-installed, and I was delighted to find that it has a main.c template.  So, make a new main.c, add "printf("Hello World\n");" compile button !! all good.  Now, to run it........

Ah. Next snag.  Geany is complaining that it  "Could not find terminal "xterm", and advises me to "check path for terminal tool setting in Preferences". I guess it wants to run the program in a terminal.

So, I went to prefs and I pressed the button to reset that path to something else.  Of course I have got no idea where a terminal app lives in linux.....   After a bit of searching I discovered that these types of apps live in /usr/bin

And indeed I found something called "x-terminal-emulator" - selected that.

Now back to Hello World.c !   Compiles, and now it executes.....Result !