finnw
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 7:05 pm

Re: Chip's Challenge (Windows 3.1)

Wed May 16, 2012 7:07 pm

Care to share your dosbox.conf file?
I have attempted something similar but it crashes shortly after showing the Win3.1 splash screen.

User avatar
abishur
Posts: 4477
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Location: USA
Contact: Website

Re: Chip's Challenge (Windows 3.1)

Thu May 17, 2012 1:59 am

finnw wrote:Care to share your dosbox.conf file?
I have attempted something similar but it crashes shortly after showing the Win3.1 splash screen.
The only important thing I did was

usescancodes=false

And that was only to fix an error I had where it would mess up my keyboard. Beyond that, after I had it up and running I set the framskip to optimize game play for chip's challenge.

All I did was follow the directions I've link to to the letter
Dear forum: Play nice ;-)

LastSilmaril
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed May 09, 2012 8:16 pm
Location: New York, USA

Re: Chip's Challenge (Windows 3.1)

Thu May 17, 2012 5:24 am

I salute you, good sir!

User avatar
Ed Raket
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 4:28 pm

Re: Chip's Challenge (Windows 3.1)

Thu May 17, 2012 7:19 am

Then supaplex might run on dosbox allso? :shock:

http://www.abandonia.com/nl/games/16200/Supaplex.html

Fun memory's there... :)

User avatar
abishur
Posts: 4477
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Location: USA
Contact: Website

Re: Chip's Challenge (Windows 3.1)

Thu May 17, 2012 8:34 pm

Ed Raket wrote:Then supaplex might run on dosbox allso? :shock:

http://www.abandonia.com/nl/games/16200/Supaplex.html

Fun memory's there... :)
worth the shot ;-)
Dear forum: Play nice ;-)

User avatar
AndrewS
Posts: 3625
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Chip's Challenge (Windows 3.1)

Fri May 18, 2012 12:34 am

Haha, I remember playing this game on the Amiga with my brothers. The levels with the moving floors were always my favourite :D
I did a quick search for a Linux port and found http://www.muppetlabs.com/~breadbox/software/tworld/ - have you tried compiling and running it on the Raspi?

hadi
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 4:28 pm

Re: Chip's Challenge (Windows 3.1)

Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:44 am

Pickle wrote:qemu can be used to run window 95/98 (and any other x86 emu you want).  We have it running on the pandora (omap arm) with pretty good results
does qemu work out of the box? is there any tutorial for it?

User avatar
reiuyi
Posts: 165
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 4:59 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Chip's Challenge (Windows 3.1)

Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:17 pm

I must say this user was capable of emulating a 486 and running windows 95 on a real (hardware) raspberry pi:

http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... 62&t=10635

It isn't perfectly stable, though he got at least one game running on windows 95 inside qEMU running on a raspberry pi. Read the linked thread for more information on it!

stevenwiner
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:29 pm
Location: South Africa

Re: Chip's Challenge (Windows 3.1)

Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:36 pm

I am running a version of Windows 95 called libSDL on my 2 year old Android phone (HTC Desire, ARMv7 based 1GHz, 512MB DRAM of which 250 is accessible, 480x800 screen.
It works surprisingly well.

Pi_User5
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:53 am

Re: Chip's Challenge (Windows 3.1)

Tue Jan 28, 2014 1:57 am

Did this :lol:

plugwash
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
Posts: 3517
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 11:45 pm

Re: Chip's Challenge (Windows 3.1)

Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:12 pm

reiuyi wrote:Remember this at all? It is a testimony to how bad windows 95 really was
Yeah, windows 9x didn't really have much in the way of security. Heck by default you could just click cancel on the login box and enter as a default account. It seems you could disable that but as that animation shows it was still easilly bypassed.

User avatar
redhawk
Posts: 3465
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:13 pm
Location: ::1

Re: Chip's Challenge (Windows 3.1)

Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:54 pm

The problem with Windows 9x it lacks native NTFS support so non-admin accounts could access anybody's files.
XP did in some way address security but even login passwords are crackable with special software. :)

Richard S.

TechnoSasquatch
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 8:18 am

Re: Chip's Challenge (Windows 3.1)

Sat Jan 31, 2015 8:27 am

I've got 2.0 "working." I'll enter the command to start windows and the splash comes up glitched and then it dies, kicking me out to DOS prompt again. I installed it in a sperate .IMG file for simplicities sake, using http://dsync.blogspot.com/2014/03/a-com ... 5.html?m=1 this to help me. I'll adjust the setting in the conf file and see if I can get past the splash screen.

EDIT: Changed the DOS version to 3.1 and got in with no issues. I would try to make windows 1.1 work, but I read that there are issues with it in dosbox. I remember off the top of my head.

Return to “General discussion”