rubikwizard

Re: MS SmallBASIC

Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:58 pm

Hi

I received my RasPi yesterday and I am having great fun playing with it! I have been reading the wiki and it says that Microsoft SmallBASIC is expected to work on the RasPi (http://elinux.org/RPi_Programming). Surely this cannot be correct? It is a Windows only application as far as I know?

I ask as I am a teacher of GCSE Computer Science and currently use SmallBASIC with my classes but I am looking at Python for next year.

Thanks.

john_wage

Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:07 pm

SmallBASIC != MS Small Basic

rubikwizard

Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:20 pm

john_wage said:

SmallBASIC != MS Small Basic

I realise that, but the wiki links to the MS Small Basic website. This is where the confusion is. Maybe it should be linking to http://smallbasic.sourceforge.net/ … ?

chrisw2

Thu Apr 19, 2012 10:22 pm

basic256 (educational BASIC programming environment for children) is available from the debian armel repository and I can see no reason for it not to run "out the box" on the Pi.

http://basic256.org/index_en

rmm200

Fri Apr 20, 2012 12:49 am

Please do give Python a serious look.  Your students will thank you.

I really think there is more bad code written in Basic then all the other languages combined. It teaches bad habits...

Robert_M

Fri Apr 20, 2012 2:43 am

rmm200 said:

I really think there is more bad code written in Basic then all the other languages combined. It teaches bad habits...

I've only been seeing this assertion since I came to the R-Pi forum, but I've never seen anyone explain why. Even when I look online I see it repeated without much reason given. I saw one reference going back to the guy who originally coined it that implied he was either trolling or speaking about a version of the language that was obsolete when he made the statement.