Sailing_Nut

Re: Development environments

Sun Apr 01, 2012 8:21 pm

With the shipment of my Pi getting closer I've begun "looking forward" to doing development on the board.

I was wondering what others might be planning to use for tools in the C / C++ space. I'm a big fan of IDEs for the ease of compiling / debugging and (where supported) GUI design help. I need LOTS of help there, but haven't seen anything that helps me make them actually look good!

I'm new to Linux, so I'm open to suggestions. I have been looking around and played with Anjuta on a Debian system. (Not emulated Pi.) But that does not seem like it will lend itself to cross-compiling. (It might work for developing directly on the Pi, not sure how it ties into the tool chain.)

The onther one I have looked at is Code::Blocks. It seems to be tailored to cross-compiling as you configure it to use nearly any tool chain you have at hand. (However I have not been successful in getting this onto my Debian machie to play with.)

I know that there are many others out there, so I'm looking for suggestions and personal experiences.

TIA!

Jim Manley
Location: SillyCon Valley, California, and Powell, Wyoming, USA, plus The Universe

Sun Apr 01, 2012 8:48 pm

I haven"t looked to see if it"s included in the R-Pi Linux distros, but, Eclipse is a very popular IDE that includes a pretty-printing editor (auto-formatting, auto-completion of braces, programming language keywords highlighted in colors, etc.). It allows execution and debugging within the editor, including single-stepping, data structure evaluation/display, etc. Even if it isn"t in a distro, it should be able to easily be downloaded and installed using the distro"s package manager.

The web site is at http://www.eclipse.org where you can look at the docs, install it on whatever OS you normally use, and run through examples, tutorials, etc. By the time your board arrives, you should be an Eclipse expert!