Edward

Re: Is it worth buying on Farnell now?

Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:32 am

Hi hi all,

I noticed that despite the "Supplier lead time" of  135 days on the UK Farnell website, there is still the option to buy a raspi now.

Just wanted to know if you thought there was any sense in me doing so, or should I wait untill they are actually available?

Cheers.

nick.mccloud

Sun Mar 25, 2012 12:17 pm

You reserve your place in the queue. Farnell won't charge your card until shipping comes up. So nothing really to lose!

kbootb

Sun Mar 25, 2012 12:27 pm

My thoughts at the moment...I'm not a developer, I'll be one of the teachers using this in the classroom if it develops the way I hope it will.

As I understand it, the current phase is for developers and there will be a more 'mature' package available soon, with SD cards with OS on that has had most of the wrinkles ironed out.

So I'm hanging on till someone tells me that we are at that point, and can order multiple boards for a class set.

I hope I'm being sensible by hanging back.

TheCrazyInventor

Sun Mar 25, 2012 1:44 pm

Well, the thing is… People are reporting estimated delivery dates in august right now, so I'd say order at least one unit now so you can experiment a little yourself. There is nothing in the "more mature" pack that you can't buy yourself (eg. keyboard/mouse/monitor/SD card/power adapter), except for a case.
"Anything that can possibly go wrong, does" -M

Lynbarn

Sun Mar 25, 2012 2:57 pm

Hi Edward, and welcome (love the cartoon by the way!),

It depends what you want to do with it.

If you want to experiment, perhaps start to decide how you are going to use it in the classroom, then order one now.