teh_orph

Re: Console output after GPU handover?

Mon Jan 30, 2012 2:20 pm

Hi there,

long time lurker, first time poster.

I have a lot of embedded and ARMv5/ARMv7 experience and I'm tempted once I get my Pi to bring up an OS on it (that's not Linux).

However my #1 question would be: is there any kind of (character-based) display that is brought up by the GPU before the loaded OS is booted? eg some kind of MMIO region where you can echo characters to? I can't seem to find this info yet on these forums.

If I'm to attempt this I ideally need some kind of debug output. I see there are LEDs - are these programmable? If there's no display and no programmable LED then I guess that leaves the GPIO to work with - which is a little bit beyond my electronics ability...

Cheers!

teh_orph

Tue Jan 31, 2012 11:14 am

Surely someone has turned one of these things on before with a screen plugged in...;-)

Gert van Loo

Tue Jan 31, 2012 12:26 pm

I am not a sw expert but I would think any Linux bring up to use the UART for the kprintf output. Because you still have to debug the ARM software which interacts with whatever the GPU has prepared. That UART is definitely available from the start.

After you are sure that you can output your code trough the GPU area you can put the text on your screen (But I would not like that because on a screen I can only see the last number of lines. In a UART log I can go back hundreds of lines)

XAPBob

Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:20 pm

Isn't that what a video recorder is for

tufty

Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:34 pm

As far as I"m aware, no, there is no early boot console provided by the GPU. As has been mentioned, you do have access to a pl011 UART, which is probably the easiest way to get output early on (if nothing else, you probably have tested driver code for it)

GPU interaction and fb startup is currently only documented in the linux source.

Simon

teh_orph

Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:55 pm

Cheers guys.