Bosse_B
Posts: 836
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:53 am

raspi-config cannot set wifi country on RPi4

Mon Oct 14, 2019 11:55 am

I have an RPi4B with 2GB RAM and the Raspbian Buster system.
When trying to set the WiFi country via sudo raspi-config (localization/change wifi country) I always get an error message:
Could not communicate with wpa_supplicant
and
There was an error running option I4 Change Wi-fi Country
What can I do to fix this?
(I am trying to set up my RPi as a WiFi AP).
Bo Berglund
Sweden

User avatar
B.Goode
Posts: 8860
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2014 4:03 pm
Location: UK

Re: raspi-config cannot set wifi country on RPi4

Mon Oct 14, 2019 12:15 pm

Bosse_B wrote:
Mon Oct 14, 2019 11:55 am

What can I do to fix this?
(I am trying to set up my RPi as a WiFi AP).

Use the documentation provided by Raspberry Pi instead: it doesn't require using raspi-config.

https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... -point.md

ShiftPlusOne
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 6031
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 5:36 pm
Location: The unfashionable end of the western spiral arm of the Galaxy

Re: raspi-config cannot set wifi country on RPi4

Mon Oct 14, 2019 1:20 pm

Works for me. How can I reproduce this?

Bosse_B
Posts: 836
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 9:53 am

Re: raspi-config cannot set wifi country on RPi4

Mon Oct 14, 2019 1:38 pm

B.Goode wrote:
Mon Oct 14, 2019 12:15 pm
Bosse_B wrote:
Mon Oct 14, 2019 11:55 am

What can I do to fix this?
(I am trying to set up my RPi as a WiFi AP).

Use the documentation provided by Raspberry Pi instead: it doesn't require using raspi-config.

https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... -point.md
I already used this method and it did not work. Wound up with an AP SSID showing up for 3 seconds then disappearing for 20-50 seconds and then reappearing again ad infinum.
So I reverted that attempt.
But that question about the AP belongs to my other thread rather than this simple thread about raspi-config, which is a basic question about something that should work on RPi unless the switch to Buster has broken it...
Bo Berglund
Sweden

Return to “General discussion”