Albertoo

headless setting up

Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:17 pm

Hello,

I am new to pi but i would like to learn some programming. Since i am at the university it is not that easy to connect to the wifi and take a screen/ keyboard with me. Now i figured out it should be possible to connect the pi to my phone hotspot and my laptop as well and use this as power source as well. I put an image of rasbian on an sd card, added a file called ssh in the boot portion and added a wpa_supplicant.conf. When i power the pi up it connects to my phone hotspot. Now i would like to acces the pi via putty. I have tried multiple guides but i cant figure out how to. I think i am not able to find the right ip adress to insert in putty or something else is going wrong. Can someone help me out with this?

thanks in advance,
Albertoo
Last edited by Albertoo on Mon Sep 23, 2019 7:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

RattusRattus

Re: headless setting up

Fri Sep 20, 2019 3:46 pm

Hi there,

If you can see the Pi connecting to your Hotspot I guess you can see the IP address it is being given by the hotsport.
I guess that you are also connecting to the same hotspot with your windows PC?

if so simply open putty on yoiur windows PC and enter the IP address that has been given to your Pi by your hot spot

/Andy

JumpZero

Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:01 pm

Albertoo wrote:
added a file called ssd in the boot portion
It's ssh not ssd

geektechstuff.com

Fri Sep 20, 2019 6:41 pm

Albertoo wrote:
Hello,