ARCHANA R

USB Type C of Pi 4 model B

Wed Jul 03, 2019 1:25 pm

I need the exact specifications of the Type C USB (Power Supply USB) used in the Pi 4 model B because , there are different number of contacts types (i.e Type C with 12 contacts , 22 contacts , 24 contacts ) available in the market. If somebody could provide a solution it would be helpful for me. Without knowing that how could I select the Male USB Type C connector for it?

Paeryn

Re: USB Type C of Pi 4 model B

Wed Jul 03, 2019 4:04 pm

As the USB-C connector is for power and the SoC's USB 2.0 port only then I'd say only the 2x GND, 2x Vbus, CC, D+ & D- on each side are connected for a total of 7x2 = 14 pins, though a plug should only have D+ & D- connected on one side which would make 12. As long as you have those connections you should be fine, and if you only need it for power then you don't need to connect D+ & D- (or the CCs unless your end needs them).
Note, I'm not an electrical engineer, I assume the D+/- and CCs can be left unconnected if not needed.
She who travels light — forgot something.

davidcoton

Wed Jul 03, 2019 7:52 pm

The schematic diagram lists 12 connections.
Signature retired

ARCHANA R

Thu Jul 04, 2019 4:31 am

davidcoton wrote:
But what about the Shell pins in the schematic..?

davidcoton

Thu Jul 04, 2019 9:01 am

ARCHANA R wrote:
Thu Jul 04, 2019 4:31 am
davidcoton wrote:
But what about the Shell pins in the schematic..?
AIUI shell connections go to the outer case of the connector (hence "shell"), they are not pins on the connector.
Signature retired

scorpia

Fri Jul 05, 2019 12:25 am

The USB-C port on the Pi4 is in a USB 2.0 client configuration hence many of the connections aren't used. All of the type C connectors should be incompatible as long as the connector you are using has the pins you need for your application (for example the pi uses one without the superspeed pins as it doesn't need them).