Avocachaeng!

Drug testing using Raspberry Pi

Thu Jun 20, 2019 9:22 am

We have to think of a research title and I thought of creating a drug tester by using Raspberry Pi. I'm new to this kind of thing. What could you recommend for the device? I'm really trying to think of research titles but I can't come up with one :cry:

scotty101

Re: Drug testing using Raspberry Pi

Thu Jun 20, 2019 11:14 am

Avocachaeng! wrote:
Thu Jun 20, 2019 9:22 am
We have to think of a research title and I thought of creating a drug tester by using Raspberry Pi. I'm new to this kind of thing. What could you recommend for the device? I'm really trying to think of research titles but I can't come up with one :cry:
How exactly would you detect drugs with a Raspberry Pi?
I think you need to research methods for detecting drugs rather than the raspberry pi.
The Pi might be something you are able to use to read/display results but the "detection" method is going to be the complex part of the project.
Electronic and Computer Engineer
Pi Interests: Home Automation, IOT, Python and Tkinter

LTolledo

Thu Jun 20, 2019 11:50 am

depending on the drug to test, you (or perhaps your group) need to get your hands on some proprietary sensors for the drugs to want to test, as those are not readily available in the wild, and those proprietary sensors might be forbiddingly expensive...

if you do get your hands on those sensors, and as scotty101 stated, you can use the RPi to read the sensor readings (assuming you understand how to properly interface the sensors to the RPi), format it to a human understandable format, and other stuff you want to do with it.

the nearest thing you might be able to do is some sort of alcohol breath testing (alcohol is sometimes referred to as an "intoxicating drug") .... there are some readily available sensors that can be configured to do such.
"Don't come to me with 'issues' for I don't know how to deal with those