aleksejevs64
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 31, 2019 9:29 am

Raspberry pi 3 ETHERCat

Fri May 31, 2019 9:46 am

Hello everyone!

Is it possible to reconfigure standard Pi Ethernet port to EtherCat, or it necessary use special EtherCat module for it?
If it possible, how?

Thank you!

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 24948
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:41 pm

Re: Raspberry pi 3 ETHERCat

Fri May 31, 2019 10:00 am

Had a quick read of this https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/EtherCAT, and the answer to your question I think is no, you cannot use the on board ethernet, you would need a specific Ethercat device, most likely USB connected.
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed. Here's an example...
“I own the world’s worst thesaurus. Not only is it awful, it’s awful."

food
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2019 11:51 am

Re: Raspberry pi 3 ETHERCat

Sat Jun 22, 2019 12:22 pm

I am not an expert on the subject but I have dealt with EtherCAT for industrial controllers and have vague plans to one day using it with a Raspberry Pi. As far as I am aware, EtherCAT masters use standard Ethernet hardware.

That said, the main benefit of EtherCAT is it's speed for realtime systems. Safety, motion control, etc. As Jamesh mentioned, I don't think Raspberry Pi can take advantage of that by itself and you would need extra hardware.

I have not looked over the whole site , but there is some interesting stuff over here:
http://www.simplerobot.net/2018/06/rpi- ... picat.html
I believe they are only using extra hardware for the realtime portion of EtherCAT.

If you want to make a non-realtime master then look at SOEM (Simple Open EtherCAT Master):
https://openethercatsociety.github.io/

If you want to make a slave you will definitely need specialized hardware.

Again, not an expert. Maybe there is some helpful information here.

ranpitime
Posts: 73
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2013 5:21 am

Re: Raspberry pi 3 ETHERCat

Mon Sep 23, 2019 7:12 pm

Hi,
Ethercat Master is possible on the eth0 without any additional hardware - even with distributed clocks - then a rt_preempt patch is needed.
https://store.codesys.com/codesys-contr ... pi-sl.html
or
https://store.codesys.com/codesys-contr ... mc-sl.html
the multicore version of the CODESYS runtime/plc. ( difference is - you could specify what should run on which cpu core)

Etrhercat Slave - no additional hardware is needed.
BR
Edwin

Return to “General discussion”