matthewtb
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 1:43 pm

Re: Hooking up a R-PI to a Analogue TV

Tue Jan 10, 2012 3:57 pm

Hello

I think i asked this question before but could some one show me how to hook a raspberry pi up to a analogue standard def TV. I have always used Hdmi and am a bit puzzled over 3 composite cables or 5 composite cables. My tv is about 6-7 years old and it would be helpful if you added links (to ebay) or pictures. Sorry about the daft question!!!

P.S I cant wait til the Raspberry pi comes out

Thanks

User avatar
Jongoleur
Posts: 1179
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2011 12:47 pm
Location: O'erlooking the sea, and all those effin windfarms...

Re: Hooking up a R-PI to a Analogue TV

Tue Jan 10, 2012 4:16 pm

3 cable analogue solutions are usually:

Composite video signal:  Yellow

Audio signal (right)     :  Red

Audio signal (left)       :  White

eg: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/R....._connector

This is what you should be doing to connect a Raspberry Pi.

You'll need a RCA-RCA cable for the video and a 3.5mm stereo jack - 2 RCA splitter cable for sound.  The RCA-RCA cable will go from the Pi to the yellow socket on the TV, the 3.5mm jack plugs into the adjacent socket on the Pi and the RCA connectors to the appropriate sockets on the TV.

5 cable solutions are "Component Video" and not catered for by the Pi.
I'm just a bouncer, splatterers do it with more force.....

Tomo2k
Posts: 127
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 10:00 pm

Re: Hooking up a R-PI to a Analogue TV

Tue Jan 10, 2012 4:18 pm

For Video, you will need one cable known as "Composite".

It plugs into a Yellow RCA socket on your TV, which looks like this:



You will need a cable with one of these plugs on each end:



Then, for sound you"ll need a cable like this one:
http://www.kenable.co.uk/produ.....ts_id=4968

These plug into the Red and White RCA sockets next to the Yellow one on your TV.

At the RPi end, the Yellow RCA plugs into the RCA socket and the 3.5mm stereo jack plugs into the stereo jack socket. There is one of each, so you can"t get confused.

Should cost well under a fiver for the full set of cables, you can get them from places like PC World and Maplin.
(Don't bother getting "Gold" ones, it makes zero difference in a home environment.)

If your TV doesn"t have this set of Yellow, Red and White RCA sockets, look for a SCART socket, and you can get adapters for SCART to give you the Yellow (Composite Video) and Red/White Stereo Audio RCA sockets.
These look something like like this, and cost about a pound:


matthewtb
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 1:43 pm

Re: Hooking up a R-PI to a Analogue TV

Tue Jan 10, 2012 4:47 pm

I have just checked on my TV and it has a scart socket.

I have already got the scart socket adapter (XBOX 360 came with one) and i have looked at rca cables. It would have to be RCA to RCA???

I would need this http://www.amazon.co.uk/FDL-PH.....038;sr=8-2

And then would i need this http://www.amazon.co.uk/PHONO-.....038;sr=8-8

Thanks for your answer!!!

deechster
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 9:35 pm

Re: Hooking up a R-PI to a Analogue TV

Tue Jan 10, 2012 4:52 pm

That is an RCA to RCA splitter you need a stero jack to RCA splitter.  Like this below:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/3-5mm-.....pd_cp_ce_1

jaygee
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:18 pm

Re: Hooking up a R-PI to a Analogue TV

Tue Jan 10, 2012 9:09 pm

If your tv has a SCART socket there are two options:

Get an SCART to phono adaptor like this

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Scart-.....038;sr=1-1

Connect the audio from the RP to it with a lead like this

http://www.amazon.co.uk/3-5mm-.....pd_cp_ce_1

and the video with one like this

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Single.....38;sr=1-19

(you could use just one part of a lead like this http://www.amazon.co.uk/FDL-PH.....038;sr=8-2)

ALTERNATIVELY you could do it with just 2 items - a cable like this

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hama-P.....038;sr=1-1

(This one is switchable for input/output but you obviously need one for input to the tv if you choose a nonswitchable one.)

You then need an adaptor to convert the 3.5mm socket on the RP to phono (RCA) like this http://www.amazon.co.uk/3-5mm-.....-3-catcorr

Return to “General discussion”