Page 1 of 1

4G/LTE Broadband modem

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:21 pm
by balanga
Has anyone tried using a 4G/LTE broadband modem for accessing the Internet?

Re: 4G/LTE Broadband modem

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 7:16 pm
by fruitoftheloom
balanga wrote:
Wed Aug 09, 2017 1:21 pm
Has anyone tried using a 4G/LTE broadband modem for accessing the Internet?
I am in the UK and use a MiFi, if connected via a USB data/charge Cable it shows up as a Modem automatically:

http://www.three.co.uk/Discover/Devices ... bile_Wi-Fi

Re: 4G/LTE Broadband modem

Posted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 9:28 pm
by balanga
I'm in the UK, also on the Three network and have one of these

https://www.ebay.co.uk/i/232433977536?c ... 426&crdt=0

but don't know how to get it to connect.

Re: 4G/LTE Broadband modem

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 11:55 am
by neilakos
What kind of error messages are you getting? I would have thought Three would know what to do

Re: 4G/LTE Broadband modem

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:07 pm
by fruitoftheloom
balanga wrote:
Wed Aug 09, 2017 9:28 pm
I'm in the UK, also on the Three network and have one of these

https://www.ebay.co.uk/i/232433977536?c ... 426&crdt=0

but don't know how to get it to connect.
SAKIS3G was a comprehensive software package which puts the USB 3G Modem in modem mode and connected to your ISP, unfortunately the official web site has gone but searching Google may find a download....

FYI most USB 3G Modems by default are in MSD Mode !

Re: 4G/LTE Broadband modem

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:37 pm
by balanga
neilakos wrote:
Thu Aug 10, 2017 11:55 am
What kind of error messages are you getting? I would have thought Three would know what to do
I haven't tried to connect because I don't know what to do.

I would not expect to hear anything useful from Three technical support especially if I said I was using a Raspberry Pi.

Re: 4G/LTE Broadband modem

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 9:38 pm
by jcrosasz