Problems of an absolute beginner

Sat Jul 01, 2017 11:45 am

Raspberry Pi: A Rampage.

I bought 3 of them. new.

Pi 3 directly back to supplier, it could not hold a microcard. Nu push in to hold and push again te release. Was already visible through the holes in the header that something was wrong. Just sliding in, but no boot.

Few years ago, when I bought the 2B+ I checked somewhere for empty card brands/types that are tested. Bought 2 of those empty 16 GB cards, and according to directions formatted and filled them with NOOBS. Also I erronuously bought an official NOOBS 8GB Raspberrycard.

Now recently bought a book Python in 24 hours, so I started to use them with that book as hands on experience.

a) Sometimes the equipment keeps hanging in the multicolored starting screen that is displayed before boot.
Independent of card, inserted microSD ,or official powersupply.

b) Sometimes (pretty often) things go wrong during boot, a lot of error messages a lot of repetitions, Independent of used microSD and card combination

c) When it happens that I can login I change the password raspberry in pi with raspi-config selection 2.
With one setup combination of card microSD that was possible, with another not. The procedure was OK, but after sudo reboot
the new password was not present, the old one was still valid. The procedure is OK and performed on command line level. Some line "password changed sucsesful" finalizing the procedure, confirms that.

d) When I give the command startx one of the GUI's is started, but the mouse becomes slower and slower pretty fast, and I can't just do nothing to escape except a forced power down. That is what I hate because I can't check the integrity of the NOOBS card.

e) Often after booting I reach the login prompt but the keyboard turns out to be dead.. Reboot helps after a forced power down.by pulling the mains connector.. This all is independent of used SCcard, used Pi and used powerconnector..