TriLife

So Many Languages, so little Time

Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:42 am

Greetings;

I'm a newly novice programmer (actually used to make a living off Assembler and Fortran, 30+ years ago) and am somewhat overwhelmed by all the languages one seems to have to learn to enter the field of the Internet of Things.

My interest is mostly personal (building a dream home and like automation), so I signed up for a Udacity Beginner's Android class, where I learned XML and Java (with Android Studio).

Then I took an intro to IoT from Coursera and learned some C++ (Arduino) and Python (RPi).

Now, as I am working on controlling things via HTTP (and ultimately Android based phones and tablets), it seems I keep running into PHP (through Apache). And, since Z-Wave plus will likely be my comms protocol of choice, C++ will reappear.

Now, before I use up any more of my rather few and precious brain cells, would anyone like to venture an opinion on how to best navigate this maze?

Specifically, given Android phone/tablet GUI apps, Raspberry hardware (for now) and Z-Wave (ultimately) AND an overwhelming need for on-line tutorials until I can stand on my own feet:

- what languages will I need to master at a minimum ? (seems I'm stuck with XML/Java for Android, but for Rpi/Z-Wave?)
- given the choices above, what libraries (instead of Apache, to avoid PHP) should I be looking for?
- any interesting sites, which can help fledgling re-beginners like me?
- what IDEs to use?
-any other pearls of wisdom...

Thanks a bunch in advance...

KLL

Re: So Many Languages, so little Time

Tue Apr 18, 2017 10:36 am

hi TriLife,
60++ i feel with you,
recently i was told MEAN stack is the FUTURE and a MUST KNOW,
well i took several steps into node.js ... and it is just not compatible with my ( differently wired ) brain.
ok, there will be a future without us, no problem.
i only know i feel good with python,
first with making desktop programs
and now with making web server / sites using python flask ..