plouf
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 8:13 am

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Sun Dec 11, 2011 8:16 am

Hello

i am looking forward to release of pi for some hobby projects :-)

however i am wondering how much RAM does, these distors use
(thus how much RAM can i use...)

SD card can be upgraded to several giga at minimun cost but ram..


obarthelemy
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:53 pm

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Sun Dec 11, 2011 8:24 am

More seriously, it depends on what you need in your distro. there are plans to build extra light ones with no X, no GUI, ...

plouf
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 8:13 am

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Sun Dec 11, 2011 8:29 am

i am referering to distros "as is", since i am not willing(or have knowledge) to "tweak" os
offcourse not exact mem (ie 42,43mb) but a general estimation..

tntexplosivesltd
Posts: 72
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 8:08 am
Contact: Website

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Sun Dec 11, 2011 8:38 am

Well that is a very vague question. It depends on what you want to do. For example, "as is", Arch will use next to nothing, but it will have nothing installed and you won't be able to do anything. You should focus on minimising the footprint of whichever distro you decide to use.

obarthelemy
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:53 pm

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Sun Dec 11, 2011 9:38 am

42 was a joke, it is the answer to the question of life, the universe, and everything.

The jury's still out on how much ram a well-optimized OS with a lightweight X desktop manager actually uses. Less than 128MB obviously, if not the model A wouldn't work. I'd bet in the 64-96MB range, but we'll see.

Also, hopefully there won't be any hacking required for OS variants, and people will put an image up for download, just like the regular, official, images.

Skygod
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2011 7:22 am

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Sun Dec 11, 2011 11:33 am

Quote from obarthelemy on December 11, 2011, 08:22
42.


6 x 9 = 42

"I always thought something was fundamentally wrong with the universe"

Oxwivi
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 9:33 am

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Sun Dec 11, 2011 11:57 am

I'm not sure if ARM influences the amount of RAM, but simply Googling "distro-name system requirement" will give you a general idea of how much RAM a regular install uses. Typical distros with GNOME (2.*) needs around 128 MB.

Of course by need, I mean the system requirements. Doesn't mean it will consume 128 MB of RAM when you boot it.

User avatar
spennig
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:34 am
Location: New Forest
Contact: Website

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Sun Dec 11, 2011 12:35 pm

Some non-scientific numbers, running the Arch ARM RP rootfs in qemu (256MB). AFAIK, a basic install used about 32MB at for a non-gui setup with c. no daemons running.

Now, with sshd, wicd daemon, lxdm, logged in over ssh (so the X greeter is running, but no GUI login) vmstat reports:

$ vmstat -S M -s
249 M total memory
84 M used memory
39 M active memory
35 M inactive memory
165 M free memory

And after login to X (lxde) desktop:

[jrh@alarm ~]$ vmstat -S M -s
249 M total memory
113 M used memory
52 M active memory
49 M inactive memory
136 M free memory

Open Midori
[jrh@alarm ~]$ vmstat -S M -s
249 M total memory
125 M used memory
82 M active memory
31 M inactive memory
124 M free memory

Browse RPi home page:

[jrh@alarm ~]$ vmstat -S M -s
249 M total memory
142 M used memory
97 M active memory
34 M inactive memory
106 M free memory

Open Abiword with 3 page document (with Midori still running as previous)
[jrh@alarm ~]$ vmstat -S M -s
249 M total memory
169 M used memory
104 M active memory
53 M inactive memory
79 M free memory

Make of that what you will, but is seems to me that 128MB for a non-GUI environment and 256MB for X and multiple basic applications will be adequate.

WASD
Posts: 48
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 8:28 pm

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Sun Dec 11, 2011 12:45 pm

Nice statistics spenning :D I'm intending to run Arch Linux ARM. Without X at first, but I may end up installing it for some reason.

kme
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:37 am

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Sun Dec 11, 2011 12:47 pm

Spenning, are you a part of the group working on Arch for R-Pi? If so, is there anywhere one can follow the project?

User avatar
spennig
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:34 am
Location: New Forest
Contact: Website

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Sun Dec 11, 2011 1:33 pm

Just an Arch fan. I took the rootfs announced here recently, and since been getting familiar with what's available for ARM and setting the image up as I want for when I get real hardware (so wicd, sshd, sudo, users, other apps [w1retap to run my weather station]) so it'll be usable without necessarily having a display from day one.

User avatar
Jessie
Posts: 1754
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 7:40 pm
Location: C/S CO USA

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Thu Dec 15, 2011 6:02 am

Since I'm cleaning house here in the distro section this thread is getting moved as well just to keep this section clean and simple.

User avatar
riffraff
Posts: 307
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 3:17 am
Location: Newnan, Georgia, US

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:35 am

I haven't had the opportunity to ask this one, this thread is probably as good a focal point as I'll get.
I recall someone mentioning Arch paired with XFCE desktop. Does anyone know, was that just prognostication, or are there already binaries for XFCE available compiled for ARM11?

kme
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:37 am

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:40 am

ArchLinuxARM has a prototype running with LXDE (XFCE is rather heavy contrary to popular belief). But they are using ARMv5 binaries and not ARM11/ARMv6 as all they have is a single alpha board to work on.

pepedog
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 9:55 am

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:42 am

Things I have run on a raspberrypi running archlinuxarm (alarm), am the only arch person with one. If hard float showed a significant performance increase I am to we might support a repo for this.
kde 4.7.4, e17, xfce4, lxde, qtcreator 2.4.0rc-1, monodevelop 2.4.2
I have just noticed something, my tv is a cheap thing, only does 1080 and loses 100 lines off top and bottom, you can adjust vert posion slightly, so I messed with cmdline.txt. Setting FBWIDTH to anything other than 1920 makes console unreadable but altering height does not affect that, BUT it does carry throught to X
bcm2708_fb.FBHEIGHT=800 bcm2708_fb.FBWIDTH=1920
This works, but cheap TV still crops top slightly.

dmystic
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 1:36 pm

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:07 pm

are your sure you cant just fix it on your tv? the cropping is called overscan and is a heritage of the past and not really usefull anymore, most tv's have a function to turn it off, however usually it is hidden somewhere in the menu's and usually it is called a strange name

Lance Constable Carrot
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 6:37 pm

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:19 pm

Right now using Ubuntu 11.10 on BeagleBoard:

top - 09:35:04 up 9 min, 2 users, load average: 1.32, 2.18, 1.34
Tasks: 96 total, 2 running, 94 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
Cpu(s): 63.6%us, 5.7%sy, 0.0%ni, 29.7%id, 0.0%wa, 0.0%hi, 0.9%si, 0.0%st
Mem: 490024k total, 172456k used, 317568k free, 1952k buffers
Swap: 477180k total, 0k used, 477180k free, 52716k cached

PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
890 marine 20 0 192m 35m 21m S 0.0 7.5 1:07.89 chromium-browse
910 marine 20 0 113m 32m 16m R 47.7 6.8 3:07.78 codeblocks
937 marine 20 0 121m 30m 12m S 0.0 6.4 0:46.31 chromium-browse
770 root 20 0 44224 20m 5584 S 8.6 4.3 0:39.42 Xorg
843 marine 20 0 32108 10m 7848 S 0.0 2.1 0:07.78 xfce4-panel
844 marine 20 0 33188 9.8m 7652 S 0.0 2.0 0:03.11 xfdesktop
894 marine 20 0 65700 9516 7376 S 0.0 1.9 0:00.44 chromium-browse
835 marine 20 0 23504 9064 7040 S 12.1 1.8 0:05.35 xfwm4
863 marine 20 0 27660 6016 4536 S 0.0 1.2 0:00.52 xfce4-volumed
727 marine 20 0 9060 5900 1288 S 0.0 1.2 0:04.47 bash
830 marine 20 0 26032 5740 4220 S 0.0 1.2 0:01.22 xfce4-session
847 marine 20 0 16480 5656 4500 S 0.0 1.2 0:00.42 panel-6-systray
846 marine 20 0 10312 5472 1956 S 0.6 1.1 0:02.28 xterm
838 marine 20 0 16980 5108 4112 S 0.0 1.0 0:00.36 Thunar
853 marine 20 0 23716 4576 3680 S 0.0 0.9 0:00.28 polkit-gnome-au
837 marine 20 0 15484 3220 2288 S 0.0 0.7 0:00.09 xfsettingsd
892 marine 20 0 53640 3212 1080 S 0.0 0.7 0:00.46 chromium-browse
869 marine 20 0 6332 3196 1308 S 0.0 0.7 0:02.61 bash
849 marine 20 0 17772 3120 1960 S 0.0 0.6 0:00.41 xfce4-settings-
650 root 20 0 25072 3064 2124 S 0.0 0.6 0:00.35 console-kit-dae
858 marine 20 0 8496 3020 2424 S 0.0 0.6 0:00.22 gvfs-gdu-volume
865 marine 20 0 7988 2804 2264 S 0.0 0.6 0:00.15 gvfsd-trash
860 root 20 0 13144 2660 2152 S 0.0 0.5 0:00.38 udisks-daemon
717 root 20 0 21028 2528 2028 S 0.0 0.5 0:00.29 polkitd
840 marine 20 0 7640 2152 1780 S 0.0 0.4 0:00.10 gvfsd
822 marine 20 0 4888 2048 1640 S 0.0 0.4 0:00.31 xfconfd
828 marine 20 0 4436 1784 1316 S 0.0 0.4 0:01.13 xscreensaver
633 root 20 0 3220 1476 1064 S 0.0 0.3 0:00.31 login
1 root 20 0 2432 1472 952 S 0.0 0.3 0:03.87 init
369 syslog 20 0 27196 1376 916 S 0.0 0.3 0:00.50 rsyslogd
814 marine 20 0 3312 1176 644 S 0.0 0.2 0:01.03 dbus-daemon
373 messageb 20 0 2804 1160 816 S 0.0 0.2 0:01.21 dbus-daemon
1020 marine 20 0 2296 1072 800 R 2.5 0.2 0:01.72 top
232 root 20 0 2156 1016 648 S 0.0 0.2 0:00.48 udevd
575 root 20 0 28048 748 612 S 0.0 0.2 0:00.00 ueyeusbd
861 root 20 0 4788 744 460 S 0.0 0.2 0:00.00 udisks-daemon
769 marine 20 0 2460 708 556 S 0.0 0.1 0:00.02 xinit

pepedog
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 9:55 am

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Thu Dec 15, 2011 1:08 pm

Quote from dmystic on December 15, 2011, 12:07
are your sure you cant just fix it on your tv? the cropping is called overscan and is a heritage of the past and not really usefull anymore, most tv's have a function to turn it off, however usually it is hidden somewhere in the menu's and usually it is called a strange name
Just revisited menu, can't see anything, there is a screen icon I can't get to and nothing seems to open that gate.

aeiah
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 2:00 pm

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:16 pm

Quote from pepedog on December 15, 2011, 13:08
Quote from dmystic on December 15, 2011, 12:07
are your sure you cant just fix it on your tv? the cropping is called overscan and is a heritage of the past and not really usefull anymore, most tv's have a function to turn it off, however usually it is hidden somewhere in the menu's and usually it is called a strange name
Just revisited menu, can't see anything, there is a screen icon I can't get to and nothing seems to open that gate.

ive got a cheap hdtv and its the same for me. its probably quite common and will no doubt be something that needs documenting when the raspi is released. I've got around it in the past (on my desktop) with xorg.conf modelines, but the config is on a per-television basis.

nvidia-settings and presumably the radeon counterpart has options for overscan compensation, but that isnt much use for the raspi.

perhaps xrandr can do it, and if so, a simple gui can be built around it for beginners. if not we may have to rely on openbox margins and such. openbox margins will stop fullscreen windows creeping over the edges but won't stop the mouse (or moved windows) disappearing into the unseen region.

pepedog
Posts: 1043
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2011 9:55 am

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Thu Dec 15, 2011 6:30 pm

My tv cost thrupence so I'm not disappointed

Chris Tyler
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 12:16 pm
Contact: Website

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Fri Dec 16, 2011 4:43 am

Remember that the RAM in the Raspi is shared between the ARM and GPU sides. On the 256M versions, the current split is 192M-64M, so the values from a 256M VM reported earlier are high by about 64M (in addition to x86/ARM differences).
I'm seeing Fedora 13 boot to a character mode login prompt in 11-19M depending on the services enabled (19 is sshd+ntpd+cups+network plus basics like udev, iirc). That gives you plenty of room to do interesting things.
WIth a GUI it's a lot tighter. Logged in with X started, you're at just over 90M in use; with a browser, a little over 110M.
I'll try to post numbers for Fedora 15 soon.

carlosfm
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:23 pm
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:44 am

I installed Puppy linux on a very old Dell laptop, about a year ago.
The laptop was a PII 300Mhz and had just 128MB or RAM and most distros didn't even install, the setup stalled at some point, etc.
After installing Puppy to the HDD and booting normally to X, the used RAM was at around 40MB.
Of course, OpenOffice was a pain to start - it's bloatware, really.
Opera browser was still manageable, but pages with Flash content were a pain.
Very easilly the used RAM went over 100MB and then it started to swap heavily.
vm.swappiness=1 was essential, as the HDD was old and slow, even with DMA activated.

Quote from obarthelemy on December 11, 2011, 08:22
42.


Yeah! :D
Do you Pi?

hippy
Posts: 5558
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 10:34 pm
Location: UK

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Fri Dec 16, 2011 6:15 pm

Quote from Chris Tyler on December 16, 2011, 04:43
I'm seeing Fedora 13 boot to a character mode login prompt in 11-19M ... WIth a GUI it's a lot tighter. Logged in with X started, you're at just over 90M in use

Quote from carlosfm on December 16, 2011, 09:44
The laptop was a PII 300Mhz and had just 128MB or RAM and most distros didn't even install, the setup stalled at some point, etc.
After installing Puppy to the HDD and booting normally to X, the used RAM was at around 40MB.

I'm happily running Windows 98SE with 16MB RAM, LAN networking, DUN server with HTTP and file serving, MP3 streaming and VNC with no problems -- so the question has to be 'what went wrong with Linux' ?

Linux was always labelled as lean and fast, Windows the bloated one. Perhaps the R-Pi might get us back to where we should be.

carlosfm
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:23 pm
Location: Lisbon, Portugal

Re: How Much RAM does these distros use ?

Fri Dec 16, 2011 6:52 pm

Why don't you install a Linux distro from the mid 90's?
You are comparing apples with oranges.
There are many things you can't install in W98 now.
This is valid for any old OS, Linux included.
Do you Pi?

Return to “General discussion”