teeth_03

Thinking about getting one

Sat Sep 08, 2012 12:51 am

I am a full time technician, working mainly on your average joe's virus infected and bad hard drive PCs, but I build my own PCs and know a lot about Windows. I unfortunately do not have much of a need to know much linux in my line of work however, and with my desire to be a PC gamer, it kind of limits me to use Windows on all on my PCs.

But for ~$35 and a few accessories, I might be interested in getting one to toy around with Linux some. I dont plan on hooking anything fancy up to it (other than video,USB,ethernet,power), I would just like to see how it compares to what I do now.

Here is what I am wondering how it would do with these tasks:

1. Browse the web, mainly forums....and Engadget/Joystiq
2. Stream SD movies off of a Windows File Share
3. SD Youtube
4. I am assuming Netflix is a no go?
5. A few emulators maybe,hopefully SNES and GBA. I would love,however, to play Mario Kart 64 off of it, but that is probably asking too much.

If it can do these things within reason, then I dont see why this little guy cant be used in place of a much larger windows based system.

Now, as for actually getting ahold of it. Ebay as a lot of overpriced ones,and a lot of the manufacturer direct sites have a long wait time,but this isn't too awful bad:

http://www.newark.com/jsp/search/produc ... rypi-group

As far as accessories, I like buying from NewEgg when I can. I'm trying to keep it close to $50 total if I can:

Power Adapter:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 07Y06F6731
Cable:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 07R08T8680
SD Card:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820220450

So I am looking for opinions on my questions on usability and my accessories, thanks guys!

adlambert

Re: Thinking about getting one

Sat Sep 08, 2012 12:36 pm