willrandship
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 5:08 pm

Re: How different are the A and B boards?

Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:48 pm

I know the technical specifications. What I\'m really asking is this: Could a skilled solder junkie take a model A and add some of the model B features? Note that I didn\'t say all. I don\'t want to mess with that RAM module, but adding an ethernet port would be nice.

Don\'t take this the wrong way: I\'m getting a model B for sure, because I want that extra RAM. I just have a tinkerer\'s curiosity. ;) Adding unintended functionality has been my thing ever since I first had my own graphing calculator. (Which, by the way, actually runs BBC Basic :D Thank R.T. Russel and Ben Ryves for that.)

Warringer
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2011 5:04 pm

Re: How different are the A and B boards?

Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:53 pm

Good luck, but you would be better off just getting the Model B instead of trying and upgrading a Model A.

dhb
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 7:21 pm

Re: How different are the A and B boards?

Thu Dec 01, 2011 11:53 pm

How skilled? With what specialized rework equipment?

Reworking boards has already been discussed and I wouldn\'t say you couldn\'t, but I\'m confident most of us wouldn\'t have the equipment or skill.

User avatar
abishur
Posts: 4477
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 4:10 am
Location: USA
Contact: Website

Re: How different are the A and B boards?

Fri Dec 02, 2011 5:38 am

Well, one of the main things here is that the boards get their ethernet via the lan9512 chip. You can get the 9512 here at mouser for about 6 USD (ignore the photo that says lan9514, it\'s really the 9512).

But this thing is WAAAAY small, you might be able to surface mount it, but by the time you pay for shipping you\'ve almost paid the missing 10 dollars from buying the model B outright *AND* you\'re down half the RAM while you\'re at it!
Dear forum: Play nice ;-)

willrandship
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 5:08 pm

Re: How different are the A and B boards?

Fri Dec 09, 2011 4:33 am

Okay, okay :P I was just curious how much of a difference the actual hardware was, and now it seems I have my answer: 1 more ram module, 1 USB Lan chip and 1 LAN connector, plus the extra USB Header.

User avatar
jojopi
Posts: 3109
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2011 8:38 pm

Re: How different are the A and B boards?

Fri Dec 09, 2011 4:56 am

[quote]Quote from willrandship on December 9, 2011, 04:33
1 more ram module, 1 USB Lan chip and 1 LAN connector, plus the extra USB Header.[/quote]

Plus three LEDs, polyfuse and diode pair, quartz crystal, quite a number of resistors and capacitors. Minus the two 0R links to connect the USB to the 2835 instead of the 9512.

Bacan
Posts: 347
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2011 10:03 pm

Re: How different are the A and B boards?

Fri Dec 09, 2011 5:25 am

BUT, he\'ll miss the smell of solder in the morning. :-)

Get a Gert Board and Hack together some neat project, and share the plans with the others here at the forum.

willrandship
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2011 5:08 pm

Re: How different are the A and B boards?

Fri Dec 09, 2011 5:32 am

I can get plenty of solder fumes from salvaging SRAM modules off of ancient Video Cards :P

I figure if they\'re old enough not to work with XVesa, I will never touch them, ever again.

User avatar
RaTTuS
Posts: 10517
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2011 11:12 am
Location: North West UK
Contact: Twitter YouTube

Re: How different are the A and B boards?

Fri Dec 09, 2011 9:00 am

You\'ll never upgrade the memory.... not unless you use the force , it\'s not done as moduels..
How To ask Questions :- http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
WARNING - some parts of this post may be erroneous YMMV

1QC43qbL5FySu2Pi51vGqKqxy3UiJgukSX
Covfefe

Narishma
Posts: 151
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 1:29 pm

Re: How different are the A and B boards?

Fri Dec 09, 2011 2:34 pm

[quote]Quote from willrandship on December 9, 2011, 04:33
Okay, okay :P I was just curious how much of a difference the actual hardware was, and now it seems I have my answer: 1 more ram module, 1 USB Lan chip and 1 LAN connector, plus the extra USB Header.[/quote]

There are no RAM modules. The RAM is mounted on top of the CPU in a Package on Package module, so you can\'t upgrade it.

Return to “General discussion”