Page 1 of 1

New A+ Upgrade 512 megs

Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 11:21 am
by RichardUK
Sorry if this been posted already, I did look but could not see.

But last night I was watching Ask an Engineering and Lady Ada says the A+ now has 512 megs???

I was a little surprised, don't get me wrong, I think the A+ is great. But I did think that it would get superseded by the Zero now that has the camera port.

Re: New A+ Upgrade 512 megs

Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 11:44 am
by fruitoftheloom
RichardUK wrote:Sorry if this been posted already, I did look but could not see.

But last night I was watching Ask an Engineering and Lady Ada says the A+ now has 512 megs???

I was a little surprised, don't get me wrong, I think the A+ is great. But I did think that it would get superseded by the Zero now that has the camera port.
Yes in April 2016: viewtopic.php?f=63&t=145178

The raspberry Pi 1A+ / 3A (when available) will be the same size / layout of connectors, the Raspberry Pi Zero may change its size and/or layout in the future, hence why the Zero does not replace the 1A+


.

Re: New A+ Upgrade 512 megs

Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 1:57 pm
by mikerr
RichardUK wrote: I was a little surprised, don't get me wrong, I think the A+ is great. But I did think that it would get superseded by the Zero now that has the camera port.
Zero isn't a readily available product in quantity though, and given the low profit - may never be ?

We can buy 100s of A+ right now for delivery next day.
http://cpc.farnell.com/raspberry-pi/ras ... 5-00001003

Re: New A+ Upgrade 512 megs

Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 3:37 pm
by W. H. Heydt
I have an A+512MB running.... The only odd thing I've found about the specific board is that it won't boot at 1GHz (it defaults to 700MHz). It's running fine at 900MHz. As of late last year--as I understand it--*all* BCM2835 SoCs were rated to run at 1GHz so I'm not sure what the problem is.

Re: New A+ Upgrade 512 megs

Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 4:02 pm
by RichardUK
Not sure how I missed that little update. :) Nice to see I do like the A+.
Ta for the link.

Re: New A+ Upgrade 512 megs

Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 4:08 pm
by gregeric
W. H. Heydt wrote:I have an A+512MB running.... The only odd thing I've found about the specific board is that it won't boot at 1GHz (it defaults to 700MHz). It's running fine at 900MHz. As of late last year--as I understand it--*all* BCM2835 SoCs were rated to run at 1GHz so I'm not sure what the problem is.
Mine's fine with the Zero's parameters manually inserted in config.txt:

Code: Select all

arm_freq=1000
core_freq=400
gpu_freq=300
sdram_freq=450
over_voltage=6
Haven't tried to push it any further.

Re: New A+ Upgrade 512 megs

Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 6:05 pm
by CarlRJ
RichardUK, I saw her say that too (side note, LadyAda is awesome in so many ways - I want her to be a role model for my niece in a few years), the big news there wasn't that the A+ now has 512MB of RAM (that was announced some months ago), but rather that Adafruit now has them in stock in quantity - enough quantity that the site simply says, "in stock" rather than, say, "42 in stock".

Ooh! I just looked and it also says, "MAX PER CUSTOMER: 100".
https://www.adafruit.com/product/2266

Re: New A+ Upgrade 512 megs

Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 6:27 pm
by W. H. Heydt
gregeric wrote:
W. H. Heydt wrote:I have an A+512MB running.... The only odd thing I've found about the specific board is that it won't boot at 1GHz (it defaults to 700MHz). It's running fine at 900MHz. As of late last year--as I understand it--*all* BCM2835 SoCs were rated to run at 1GHz so I'm not sure what the problem is.
Mine's fine with the Zero's parameters manually inserted in config.txt:

Code: Select all

arm_freq=1000
core_freq=400
gpu_freq=300
sdram_freq=450
over_voltage=6
Haven't tried to push it any further.
I did it using the GUI version of raspi-config. I suppose it's possible that raspi-config is "behind the times" a bit on the settings. At some point I check config.txt to see what it put there. FYI...when I say "didn't boot", it failed when bring up the GUI. Everything before that seemed to be okay.

Re: New A+ Upgrade 512 megs

Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 7:30 pm
by Mettauk
Take care when buying, just tried to buy a 512mb version at Farnel/Element and it came out at £29 http://uk.farnell.com/raspberry-pi/rasp ... dp/2536236
then went to CPC and they seem to be still offering the 256mb version http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/processor ... s/8332699/
PiHut is also still offering the 256mb A+ at £18 plus post. https://thepihut.com/products/raspberry ... k-in-stock

Re: New A+ Upgrade 512 megs

Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 8:45 pm
by W. H. Heydt
Mettauk wrote:Take care when buying, just tried to buy a 512mb version at Farnel/Element and it came out at £29 http://uk.farnell.com/raspberry-pi/rasp ... dp/2536236
then went to CPC and they seem to be still offering the 256mb version http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/processor ... s/8332699/
PiHut is also still offering the 256mb A+ at £18 plus post. https://thepihut.com/products/raspberry ... k-in-stock
I ordered them on launch day from MCM, specifically as the 512MB version. When the arrived, I checked the invoice, the boxes and then set one up and checked the memory size. The one I checked (the boxes are identical) really is 512MB. The price was $20, plus tax and shipping. Paranoid? Me? If they'd shipped within a week or two, I would have been a lot less concerned.

Ah, well...all water under the bridge now. I have them, they're the right model. Now waiting for the CM3 to launch.

Re: New A+ Upgrade 512 megs

Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 9:01 pm
by fruitoftheloom
Mettauk wrote:Take care when buying, just tried to buy a 512mb version at Farnel/Element and it came out at £29 http://uk.farnell.com/raspberry-pi/rasp ... dp/2536236
then went to CPC and they seem to be still offering the 256mb version http://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/processor ... s/8332699/
PiHut is also still offering the 256mb A+ at £18 plus post. https://thepihut.com/products/raspberry ... k-in-stock
You have your text and url's fubared CPC = RS ??? RS are out of stock !!!

Where do you get £29.00 ? I get £19.19 + P&P UK CPC for a A+ 512mb

http://cpc.farnell.com/raspberry-pi/ras ... dp/SC14138

Re: New A+ Upgrade 512 megs

Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2016 9:25 pm
by alphanumeric
The A+ has its advantages over the Zero. A+ has the regular size HDMI port. One full sized USB port. DSI connector. Footprint is the same size as most hats which, makes mounting them with standoffs easy. My sense hat is mounted to an A+ (the old version). I will likely replace it with the A++ at some point. It all depends on what your going to do with your Pi, and what your going to connect to it.

Re: New A+ Upgrade 512 megs

Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 3:49 am
by W. H. Heydt
alphanumeric wrote:The A+ has its advantages over the Zero. A+ has the regular size HDMI port. One full sized USB port. DSI connector. Footprint is the same size as most hats which, makes mounting them with standoffs easy. My sense hat is mounted to an A+ (the old version). I will likely replace it with the A++ at some point. It all depends on what your going to do with your Pi, and what your going to connect to it.
Part of the spec for calling something a "HAT" is that hole spacing, so--properly speaking--*all* HATs have that footprint. I have my SenseHAT mounted on a B+ running Raspbian Wheezy because that is what is on the ISS. A friend has made me the 3D-printed Astro Pi case, but I haven't put that together yet.

Probably the important difference (for most people) between the Pi Zero and the A+ is that the A+ comes with the header pins attached.

FYI... The box for the new A+ is labeled "Raspberry Pi 1 Model A+ 512MB".

Re: New A+ Upgrade 512 megs

Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 9:38 am
by alphanumeric
Was thinking pHat versus Hat when I posted. I'd rather have my A+ on a Hat and my Zero on a pHat, versus the other way around.
The A+ outline is a nice match to a hat. There isn't much sticking out the sides.
My sense hat is setup as a weather clock and runs headless. I didn't need all the extra ports.
At some point I will likely buy another one and mate it to a 3B.

Re: New A+ Upgrade 512 megs

Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 12:08 pm
by bensimmo
Does it have a revision number bump? Since is has been revised?
Is it now v1.2 ?

Re: New A+ Upgrade 512 megs

Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2016 1:09 pm
by gregeric
PCB revision is unchanged, V1.1.

Reports itself as rev 0015, unchanged from the documented 256MB version built by Embest.

Re: New A+ Upgrade 512 megs

Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 9:38 am
by bensimmo
That makes complete sense because they are identical products yes right :o . Makes life so easy for the user not knowing which is which ;-)
:roll: