Daz wilde

Staring a coding club - Primary Ages

Mon Mar 28, 2016 3:58 pm

Hi everyone, i'm starting a coding club at one of the schools I work at. Its just for an hour at lunch and an hour after school, it will be for ages 7-11.

School tell me they have used scratch before but want to get more into raspberry pi's and the gpio side of things.

I'm thinking of maybe starting out with scratch and testing the water with them and then maybe progressing to python with the pi's.
I'm really new to this myself, but seem to have more knowledge than the teaching staff.

If anyone has any advice on where to start, maybe basic coding or nice little projects I could use the pi with that would be great.

Thanks in advance!!

(I tried the burping jelly baby myself the other week which worked a treat so anything like this would be great! :D )

Abi.grady

Re: Staring a coding club - Primary Ages

Mon Mar 28, 2016 9:50 pm

I'm currently in the same boat! Any help on projects for a beginners club in a primary school would be great :)

DougieLawson

Tue Mar 29, 2016 7:41 am

Have you all failed to find https://www.raspberrypi.org/education/?
Note: Having anything humorous in your signature is completely banned on this forum. Wear a tin-foil hat and you'll get a ban.

Any DMs sent on Twitter will be answered next month.

This is a doctor free zone.

Daz wilde

Tue Mar 29, 2016 5:43 pm

DougieLawson wrote:Have you all failed to find https://www.raspberrypi.org/education/?
I've seen the education resources but wondered if anyone had advice on progressing through the easy steps to difficult projects..
For instance some year 3 pupils won't be able to cope with year 6 projects..

clive
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator

Fri Apr 01, 2016 7:44 pm

Have you looked at Code Club? https://www.codeclub.org.uk/

If you just want to try out some of our materials, you can access two sample projects from each course without logging in. https://www.codeclubprojects.org/en-GB/

Forris