Enuff
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 6:56 pm

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:04 pm

I love the Ras-Pi and i have thousands of ideas what i could do with it! The problem is, that i have no idea of programming and i dont have the time to learn it. So i would love to know, if we can get a Ras-Pi with a SD-Card with linux pre-installed on it!

obarthelemy
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:53 pm

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:58 pm

Yes, it will be available from the shop.

Enuff
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 6:56 pm

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:43 pm

Good! :D thank you for the fast reply!

User avatar
Montekuri
Posts: 449
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 6:26 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Tue Nov 15, 2011 9:11 pm

Quote from Enuff on November 15, 2011, 20:43
Good! :D thank you for the fast reply!

EDIT: Does anyone know the price for the B-modell with linux pre-installed??
The B model is U$35. You will have the possibility to download the OS for free ($0) from the R-Pi site and insert (burn, save...) in your SD card (that you can buy in some shop near your house).

obarthelemy
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:53 pm

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Tue Nov 15, 2011 9:37 pm

Not exactly. they don't charge for Linux, nor for the installation. No clue about the final price for the Pi-B (around $35), nor of their price for an SD card (they kinda committed to having low price for those, too). If you've got spare SD cards hanging around, you can use those, too, copyig Liux onto them will be a very simple process (as in: 0- stick SD in PC; 1- download imager software and Linux image; 2- run imager, pointing it at the image; 3- done !)

User avatar
liz
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5202
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Tue Nov 15, 2011 9:39 pm

The final prices are $25 for the model A, and $35 for the model B. Software is free, but you will have to buy an SD card or have one already.
Director of Communications, Raspberry Pi

Enuff
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 6:56 pm

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Tue Nov 15, 2011 9:42 pm

Ok also thank you for your fast reply, Montekuri! Is there already a list of os that will be online for download??
EDIT: And also thank you Liz! :D

matt_heys
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 5:58 pm

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Wed Nov 16, 2011 8:26 am

Quote from obarthelemy on November 15, 2011, 21:37
0- stick SD in PC; 1- download imager software and Linux image; 2- run imager, pointing it at the image; 3- done !)

Love your 0 indexed list there :-)

User avatar
meltwater
Posts: 1014
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:38 am

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Wed Nov 16, 2011 11:51 am

Are there any indications about what size SD cards will be suitable, I know it's OS dependent and the R-Pi supports a few. Looking at the emulator images and threads, it seems like 8Gb is a good bet, but wondering if 4Gb cards are also usable, or even 2Gb in some cases.
Personally I may end up with a few cards with different setups on, so will help to know the sizes we might need.
______________
http://www.themagpi.com/
A Magazine for Raspberry Pi Users
Read Online or Download for Free.

My new book: goo.gl/dmVtsc

Meltwater's Pi Hardware - pihardware.com

Like the MagPi? @TheMagP1 @TheMagPiTeam

Enuff
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 6:56 pm

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Thu Nov 17, 2011 8:41 pm

Ok, here is my last question, and it is probably a very stupid question, but i have to ask it! Will the "PSU" be delivered together with the Ras-Pi or do i have to buy one here in germany??

obarthelemy
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:53 pm

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Thu Nov 17, 2011 8:50 pm

PSU not included. You don't *have* to buy one, the Pi uses microUSB, same as cellphones and tablets, and can probably be powered by a PC's USB port,too (a bit over-spec, but what isn't ?). If you're buying, go for a 1WA one, 0.5 might be borderline not enough.
Edit: oops, A not W, thanks kme !

kme
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:37 am

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Thu Nov 17, 2011 8:53 pm

Quote from obarthelemy on November 17, 2011, 20:50
PSU not included. You don't *have* to buy one, the Pi uses microUSB, same as cellphones and tablets, and can probably be powered by a PC's USB port,too (a bit over-spec, but what isn't ?). If you're buying, go for a 1W one, 0.5 might be borderline not enough.That must be a typo - go for a 1 A (5 W) unit.

obarthelemy
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:53 pm

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Thu Nov 17, 2011 8:53 pm

@blueberry: my ARM nettop, including X, Office... uses under 2GB. I'd go with 4 though, the price difference is negligible and you'll be future-proof.

obarthelemy
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:53 pm

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Thu Nov 17, 2011 8:53 pm

Sorry, brainfart, fixing my post, thanks kme ^^

fordp
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 09, 2011 12:07 pm

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Thu Nov 17, 2011 8:56 pm

They have said that a mobile phone power supply can be used.
(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/C.....wer_Supply)

So this and the SD Card should be easy to get hold of anywhere in the world.

gatto
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 7:17 pm

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:05 am

Quote from meltwater on November 16, 2011, 11:51
Are there any indications about what size SD cards will be suitable, I know it's OS dependent and the R-Pi supports a few. Looking at the emulator images and threads, it seems like 8Gb is a good bet, but wondering if 4Gb cards are also usable, or even 2Gb in some cases.
Personally I may end up with a few cards with different setups on, so will help to know the sizes we might need.As you said, it depends on what OS you use, what you want to install, etc.

I'm personally going to install a very lightweight Arch Linux install with Openbox, will probably go for 4GB or 8GB, but I'll value transfer speeds over capacity.

Liz, do you have any idea as to what the max safe read speed would be? Would, say, 60 MB/s be too high?

User avatar
liz
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5202
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:08 am

Way too high, I'm afraid. You're looking at a max closer to 5 MB/s.
Director of Communications, Raspberry Pi

gatto
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 7:17 pm

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:23 am

Oh wow, I wasn't expecting that, but it should still be fine. I'm guessing it doesn't support booting off a USB?

User avatar
liz
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator
Posts: 5202
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:34 am

You *could* get it to boot off a USB drive - but you'd have to write a bootloader that brought up the USB peripheral and then loaded an image over USB. It'd be a pretty substantial piece of software you'd need to write to make it work - you'd probably need at least a few weeks. I expect that someone in the community will do it pretty early on, though.

There's a challenge for all you hobbyist coders - get cracking!
Director of Communications, Raspberry Pi

kme
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:37 am

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Fri Nov 18, 2011 12:42 am

But there is a very fine balance in this to keep in mind. Yes the SD speed is very low but on the other hand you maximum have 256 MB to fill up and the OS itself should not take more than 20-30% if you want a useful system. And then the extra time to boot entirely from SD is down to few seconds. Not worth much effort.

gatto
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 7:17 pm

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:29 am

Hold on...if we can't boot from a USB, then what is used to install the OS onto the SD card?

Hmmm, I guess you're supposed to use a different computer? Just remembered that my brother's computer has a card reader, no problem.

obarthelemy
Posts: 1399
Joined: Tue Aug 09, 2011 10:53 pm

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:34 am

another PC (windows, linux, mac), or even the same Pi, with a card reader and a second SD. (which does create an interesting chicken-and-egg problem). And you can buy pre-imaged SDs from he raspi shop, too (well... soon ^^)

shiftyphil
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 12:32 am

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:36 am

Quote from gatto on November 18, 2011, 01:29
Hold on...if we can't boot from a USB, then what is used to install the OS onto the SD card?

Assuming (though I think I read it somewhere)...
SD Card reader in a PC, with prepared images that can simply be copied (with dd) onto the card (no 'install' process necessary.)

dpawson
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:05 pm
Contact: Website

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Sat Nov 19, 2011 11:54 am

Quote from obarthelemy on November 15, 2011, 21:37
. If you've got spare SD cards hanging around, you can use those, too, copyig Liux onto them will be a very simple process (as in: 0- stick SD in PC; 1- download imager software and Linux image; 2- run imager, pointing it at the image; 3- done !)

"Imager software" ?? Any further information on this please?

E.g. formatting information / layout for the card?
What system/32|64bit i386/??? it is meant for?
If source, what language please?

Anything public yet?

TIA Dave

kme
Posts: 448
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 9:37 am

Re: Do i need to programm the Ras-pi before i can use an OS?

Sat Nov 19, 2011 12:20 pm

Quote from dpawson on November 19, 2011, 11:54
"Imager software" ?? Any further information on this please?

E.g. formatting information / layout for the card?
What system/32|64bit i386/??? it is meant for?
If source, what language please?

It can be done with a simple dd command, which runs on any Linux.

Return to “General discussion”