Kayleh

Lighting An LED

Sat Jan 09, 2016 2:49 am

Ey, I'm decently new to the Raspberry pi and have a 2 Model B and i'm wanting to light up and led with the GPIO pins. i've lighten LEDs on a breadboard with a 9v battery so i have some experience with LEDs and resistors. i have watched this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lzIDqWp2mdQ and i can't get it to work and the first time i tried it rebooted itself and then i waited a week (with 6 reinstallations of raspbian jessie) and now it doesent do anything. Any replys would be helpful

Heater

Re: Lighting An LED

Sat Jan 09, 2016 5:48 am

Did I just watch a video of someone lighting a LED from a Pi pin with no current limiting resistor?

I suspect you blew your Pi up doing that.

Forget the LED, does your Pi even boot up now?
Memory in C++ is a leaky abstraction .

emma1997

Sat Jan 09, 2016 5:59 am

Heater wrote:
I suspect you blew your Pi up doing that.
Not even a remote possibility. Do the math. Or actually measure current as I have done. It's called Ohms Law not Ohms Suggestion.

Heater

Sat Jan 09, 2016 6:22 am

emma1997,
Not even a remote possibility. Do the math. Or actually measure current as I have done. It's called Ohms Law not Ohms Suggestion.
Ohm's Law does not apply to LEDs. LEDs are not resistors. They are very non-linear devices whose characteristics vary greatly. Especially between different colour of LED.

Please show your math workings.

Now, I'm quite aware that one can get away with running a LED with no current limiting resistor in some situations. If one knows what one is doing.

Might this statement from our OP: "...the first time i tried it rebooted itself..." not be a hint that this is a really bad idea?

Assuming the instructions in the vid were followed that is shorting a LED across the 3.3v supply. No wonder it rebooted!
Memory in C++ is a leaky abstraction .

gordon77

Sat Jan 09, 2016 7:04 am

It all depends on the led used. Take a look at the datasheet here for example