Raspberry wino
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:48 am

Search function failure?

Mon Jul 23, 2012 11:15 pm

A day or two ago I had a query about raspi-config so I typed it into the search box to find relevant threads but it said no matches and so I started a thread to ask my question.

Today I found a thread with raspi-config in the title and body. I tried a search and it still doesn't find either thread. Is the hyphen a problem or something else?

rembrandt
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:58 am

Re: Search function failure?

Tue Jul 24, 2012 6:42 am

In the advanced search, it states:
Place + in front of a word which must be found and - in front of a word which must not be found
I did a search on config* and then on *raspi within those results and it returned 21 matches.

Hope that helps :)

User avatar
AndrewS
Posts: 3625
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Search function failure?

Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:01 am

Or you could use google site search, as suggested in this thread http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... =25&t=7727
(which is actually what the Search box on the blog front page does)

Raspberry wino
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Search function failure?

Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:25 am

Thanks both.

I (a human) see 'raspi-config' as a single character string containing a hyphen because there are no spaces.
The search function sees two strings because there is an embedded hyphen, which seems perverse.

At least the mystery is solved.

User avatar
AndrewS
Posts: 3625
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 4:50 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK
Contact: Website

Re: Search function failure?

Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:31 am

Raspberry wino wrote:I (a human) see 'raspi-config' as a single character string containing a hyphen because there are no spaces.
As a (pedantic) programmer I see it as a 12-character string ;) (13 if null-terminated) :geek:

phoenix
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:56 am

Re: Search function failure?

Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:18 pm

I have had the same problem.
It is really annoying - surely something can be done about it quickly?
It is a simple enough programming task to recognize a word with a hyphen (no blanks).

Return to “General discussion”