sdcruze

Power

Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:14 am

Hi all,

I am new to Raspberry Pi.

I have been playing with electronics commercially for a few years but I'm taking steps to train myself up more in my own time on the technical side of things.

Are all Raspberry Pi boards USB powered, or are there any mains/battery powered versions?

Thanks.

BMS Doug

Re: Power

Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:35 am

All models of Pi are designed to be powered through the microUSB power connector, this cannot be used as a data connection.

If you wish you can back-power the Pi through the GPIO but this is not recommended as it bypasses the Pi's fuse.

You can use a USB powerbank to supply the microUSB power, thus giving you a battery supply.

Alternatively you could use any battery you like and condition the output to provide a stable 5v to power the Pi.

Often the power is supplied from a "wall wart" (mains plug adapter which outputs 5vdc).

You choose which method of powering you wish to use.
Doug.
Building Management Systems Engineer.

klricks

Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:15 pm

Many people use old 5V phone chargers. At least 1A output but the RPi B+ and 2B can use up to 2A depending on what is attached to the USB. Higher amps is OK but the RPi won't and can't use more than 2A.
Unless specified otherwise my response is based on the latest and fully updated Raspbian Buster w/ Desktop OS.

BMS Doug

Mon Feb 16, 2015 2:50 pm

klricks wrote:Many people use old 5V phone chargers. At least 1A output but the RPi B+ and 2B can use up to 2A depending on what is attached to the USB. Higher amps is OK but the RPi won't and can't use more than 2A.
I carefully avoided using the word "Charger" as these are not guaranteed to output 5v and a stable 5v input is necessary for the Pi.
Doug.
Building Management Systems Engineer.

pluggy

Mon Feb 16, 2015 7:59 pm