mrunderhill

Re: Rasperry Pi == Bad idea

Thu Feb 23, 2012 11:40 am

I would like to state my concern over this Raspberry Pi idea.

The issue is currently I am a software developer and am currently enjoying being employed, there have been times when I haven't been employed and had to spend a few weeks looking for employment.

The idea of getting more people, more than likely better at programming than me, in the job market scares the bejesus out of me.  I have at least another 25 years of employment to look forward to, my house isn't going up in value, my fixed rate mortgage isn't saving me any money, don't even mention my pension scheme.  I'll have to work even longer to afford my retirement.

I can see a future (in 15 years from now) where all these 9 year olds are in the job market, and me getting old and getting smelly, with me COBOL skills, having no chance of being employed when pitted against 25 year olds with already with 15 years of experience.

The only saving grace I could possible see is that these kids will be better skilled, higher paid therefore paying more taxes so the state pention fund should be healthier.  This would only work if all these jobs were in the UK (where I am), so I propose that all Raspberry Pi's sold come with a condition, that if sold outside of the UK the owner and the owners children should pay 5% of their earnings to the UK state pension fund.  I don't think this is a viable solution.

So I'm hoping all Raspberry Pi's fry as soon as everyone plugs them in.  And funding for the charity drys up quickly and everyone forgets about the whole silly idea.  And goes back to teaching Microsoft Word and Excel in schools.

I think I'll  start a Stop Raspberry Pi (StRaPi) campaign.

I do hope this isn't a duplicate post, I did do a search but the ZX81 I started out on didn't have such fancy features so I may not be quite as skilled as people who grew up with the Amiga.

RaTTuS

Thu Feb 23, 2012 11:46 am