Page 1 of 1

V small text size in RISCOS

Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 10:57 am
by SSRelay
Hello,
I have just installed RISCOS on my SD Card. On boot up the text in the individual icons are unreadable - too small. Any suggestions?
Regards
SSRelay

Re: V small text size in RISCOS

Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 12:27 pm
by Burngate
I suffered with a similar problem

Off the top of my head, I think I went into Configure, Screen.
Chose monitor type Generic, and resolution to suit

Re: V small text size in RISCOS

Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:32 pm
by pygmy_giant
I fixed this - there is a configure file - dig around and you'll find it - I'll post more detailed instructions soon...

Re: V small text size in RISCOS

Posted: Sat Dec 15, 2012 7:54 pm
by pygmy_giant
Right - I changed SDFS::RISCOSpi.$.!Boot.Choices.Boot.PreDesk.Configure.Monitor so that the last line reads: WimpMode X1280 Y720 C16M F76 and now I can actually see what I'm doing.

Re: V small text size in RISCOS

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 9:35 am
by colin B
pygmy_giant wrote:Right - I changed SDFS::RISCOSpi.$.!Boot.Choices.Boot.PreDesk.Configure.Monitor so that the last line reads: WimpMode X1280 Y720 C16M F76 and now I can actually see what I'm doing.
I tried to do this for my Lapdock, the file has my amendments in it (WimpMode X1366 Y768 C16M F60 , but RISCOS still defaults to 1920 * 1080 which is disappointing.

Re: V small text size in RISCOS

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 8:47 pm
by pygmy_giant
hmmm..... works for me - does it still do that after you change the resolution via the icon on the right and save the pinboard settings? Maybe yours is a lapdock specific problem...?

Re: V small text size in RISCOS

Posted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:53 pm
by pygmy_giant
...or maybe you chose values which RISCOS can't support - try my values or the graphic options that RISCOS allows you to use once you have booted to the desktop....?

X1366 Y768 do not sound like standard resolution modes - maybe that is why Riscos defaults back to the original setting.

Re: V small text size in RISCOS

Posted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 12:10 am
by colin B
Yes thanks, I'll give it a whirl.

800 * 600 is too big and the default is too small :(

Re: V small text size in RISCOS

Posted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 4:07 am
by microbitsuk
Here is the proper way to change your screen size.
Step 1: Load Risc OS to the desktop
Step 2: Double Click on the !Boot Folder to open the Configuration window. :D
Step 3 Double Click on the Screen Icon in the Configuration window to open the screen window. :D
Step 4: Select the monitor type generic by clicking on the button to the right and select generic from the drop down list.
Step 5: select the number of colours by clicking on the right from the drop down list.
Step 6: select the resolution by clicking on the right button and select the resolution to suit you monitor from the drop down list. no need to change frame rate.
Step 7: Click the try button to check if it works it will ask you click continue to test the settings, switch modes then ask if you would like to keep the new settings or discard them.
Step 8: most important part click the set, this will save the mode string into !Boot/Predesk/Configure folder, to use every time you start Risc OS

Re: V small text size in RISCOS

Posted: Thu Dec 27, 2012 10:26 am
by colin B
Thanks for the help microbitsuk, I've got a usable though not perfect resolution now, I'll make a new thread with the settings I used.