Edw1967
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 1:58 pm

Help needed with screen resolution

Sun Jun 28, 2015 2:13 pm

Hello,
First time post from a new RISC OS user.

I'm trying to get my Pi to boot into my TV's native resolution of 1366x768 @ 60Hz.

By default it goes to 1920x1080.

I've tried the Screen utility in iBoot and editing the CONFIG.TXT file and to be honest I don't know what I'm doing.

Any (simple) help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank-you in advance for any help :)

dfeugey
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: France
Contact: Website

Re: Help needed with screen resolution

Mon Jun 29, 2015 9:57 am

In config.txt :
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=39

Then, depending of the version of RISC OS you use, the Pi should boot automatically in the right mode, or you should choose a 1360x768 one. Nota: hdmi_mode=81 is 1366x768 mode, but RISC OS will only accept 1360x768 mode.

Bye, David
RISC OS FR - All RISC OS, in french (but not only)
http://www.riscos.fr/

Edw1967
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 1:58 pm

Re: Help needed with screen resolution

Mon Jun 29, 2015 1:41 pm

Hi David,

Thanks for taking the time to reply.

Tried what you suggested. Unfortunately it's still booting into a resolution of 1920x1080.

Thanks for your help.

dfeugey
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: France
Contact: Website

Re: Help needed with screen resolution

Tue Jun 30, 2015 12:17 pm

To change the config.txt file is not enough. You must also choose the right mode under RISC OS (if the required mode is not available, a suitable MDF file will be needed).

Config.txt fixes hardware mode. Here 1360x768 pixels. Then, RISC OS boots in 1920x1080 inside this screen (so it's probably blurry). You can change this from RISC OS.

If you don't want to worry with MDF, you can simply:
1/ change config.txt to right hardware mode (here 39 or 81)
2/ use Anymode (http://www.pi-star.co.uk/anymode) to choose the same resolution under RISC OS.
RISC OS FR - All RISC OS, in french (but not only)
http://www.riscos.fr/

welshjf
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:17 am

Re: Help needed with screen resolution

Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:56 am

I have a similar situation: 1360x768 TV, RISC OS defaults to 1080p which looks horrible.

I think I've set up config.txt properly (is it possible to check from within the OS what actual mode is being output?), and installed AnyMode.

The first time I set X1360 Y768 C16M F60 after booting, whether manually from the Display widget or at boot time from the Screen configuration, the display is corrupted (fragments of previous images; horizontal lines on the top half of the screen). Per the Readme, I can press F12 and blindly type "wimpmode 32" <enter> <enter> to restore a basic working mode. After that, I can switch back to 1360 and it looks perfect. The color depth doesn't seem to matter.

How can I make it set the mode correctly the first time?

dfeugey
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:38 pm
Location: France
Contact: Website

Re: Help needed with screen resolution

Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:17 pm

I have the same problem. I simply boot in 1920 x 1080, then I switch later to 1360 x 768 with the right command at the end of the 'desktop' file.
RISC OS FR - All RISC OS, in french (but not only)
http://www.riscos.fr/

User avatar
BrokenFrog
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 10:32 pm

Re: Help needed with screen resolution

Thu Nov 12, 2015 9:44 am

I can concur. With the Pi-Top, attempting to boot directly to 1360x768 via either MDFs or AnyMode produces the half/half fragmented screen mentioned above. I just put AnyMode in Boot.Choices.Boot PreDesk and drop an ObeyFile called WimpMode in Boot.Choices.Boot.Desktop with

Code: Select all

*wimpmode x1360 y768 c16m f60
and it works, without a stutter.Can't fathom why it does the fragmented screen, but I'm glad it's not a Pi-Top issue, and more of a bug.

Return to “RISCOS”