User avatar
scruss
Posts: 2348
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 12:25 pm
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact: Website

RISCOS virtualization?

Thu Apr 23, 2015 12:19 pm

Would it be possible to virtualize RISCOS? By that, I mean give it a core and a few hundred MB of RAM on a Raspberry Pi 2, and let it do its thing to a display under Linux?

(as you can tell, I know little of the technical requirements here …)
‘Remember the Golden Rule of Selling: “Do not resort to violence.”’ — McGlashan.

User avatar
kusti8
Posts: 3439
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 5:29 pm
Location: USA

Re: RISCOS virtualization?

Thu Apr 23, 2015 12:39 pm

Linux as in x86?

You're going to need to use QEMU. There are tutorials on how to do this for Raspbian, they shouldn't be very different for RISCOS. Look around on Google.
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't.

fruitoftheloom
Posts: 20125
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:40 pm
Location: Delightful Dorset

Re: RISCOS virtualization?

Thu Apr 23, 2015 12:45 pm

adieu

Asus CS10 Chromebit / HP Envy 4500 Wireless Printer / Raspberry Pi Model 2B v1.1 / RealVNC Software...

ghans
Posts: 7867
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 8:30 pm
Location: Germany

Re: RISCOS virtualization?

Thu Apr 23, 2015 12:57 pm

• Don't like the board ? Missing features ? Change to the prosilver theme ! You can find it in your settings.
• Don't like to search the forum BEFORE posting 'cos it's useless ? Try googling : yoursearchtermshere site:raspberrypi.org

User avatar
scruss
Posts: 2348
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 12:25 pm
Location: Toronto, ON
Contact: Website

Re: RISCOS virtualization?

Thu Apr 23, 2015 8:49 pm

kusti8 wrote:Linux as in x86?
No, Linux like Raspbian on an arm7, as in the Raspberry Pi 2. Not emulation.

Now, if the processor doesn't support virtualization, then we are likely out of luck.

Stewart
‘Remember the Golden Rule of Selling: “Do not resort to violence.”’ — McGlashan.

User avatar
DavidS
Posts: 4334
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 6:39 am
Location: USA
Contact: Website

Re: RISCOS virtualization?

Sun Apr 26, 2015 10:42 pm

Possible? Probably, though the amount of work needed to do so would be huge at the least, and it would slow down RISC OS.

What do you need linux for so much that you would make this sacrifice?
RPi = The best ARM based RISC OS computer around
More than 95% of posts made from RISC OS on RPi 1B/1B+ computers. Most of the rest from RISC OS on RPi 2B/3B/3B+ computers

mimi123
Posts: 583
Joined: Thu Aug 22, 2013 3:32 pm

Re: RISCOS virtualization?

Mon May 18, 2015 4:45 pm

DavidS wrote:Possible? Probably, though the amount of work needed to do so would be huge at the least, and it would slow down RISC OS.

What do you need linux for so much that you would make this sacrifice?
With Qemu KVM, you can run RISC OS for BeagleBoard without modification!
[already done]

Return to “RISCOS”