blc

Enlightenment running under Arch - chuffed!

Tue May 15, 2012 9:27 pm

Hello all

I received my Pi last week, and have been playing with it pretty much non-stop! I had been using Debian, but after reading reports of Arch being "faster", I decided to give it a shot. I wouldn't call myself a Linux noob - I've been using it on and off for over 10 years now - but I can honestly say that I have really had my hand held! Even distros like Debian still get you up & running with X and a desktop/window manager...! Arch is a bit of a shock to the system to say the least.

After much trying, compiling, re-compiling and giving up on compiling when I realised that binaries are already available, I have managed to get Enlightenment (e17) up & running under Arch. It does indeed feel a lot faster than the Debian distro, but that could just be placebo.

I've attached a screenshot of my current desktop. Pretty damn chuffed with myself at the moment, though some may consider it a minor achievement! I've been a bit of a fan of Enlightenment for a while now, and it's speed should suit the Pi. Really looking forward to X drivers for the GPU now; Enlightenment already runs fairly well, but it would fly with accelerated graphics.

Now to try and compile either xulrunner (firefox dependency, but no arm package) or chromium from source so I can have a decent browser- I have a feeling that chromium will take a while...

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

MattPurland

Re: Enlightenment running under Arch - chuffed!

Tue May 15, 2012 10:00 pm

Excellent stuff, I think the DirectFB guys are working on something similar, but obviously using DirectFB instead of X which would then be accelerated by the GPU.

keep up the good work!

LastSilmaril

Wed May 16, 2012 6:01 am

This is the first I'm hearing of this project. Cool beans! Can it be crosscompiled?

blc

Wed May 16, 2012 6:13 am