MrHague
Raspberry Pi Certified Educator

Why use a RPi at school?

Tue Apr 22, 2014 12:02 pm

Hi all,

I am a primary school teacher and would love to offer some kind of club for the kids, perhaps involving using Raspberry Pis.

I have one at home and generally just fumble around with it and magpie bits from here and there. I've had it run XBMC, Chameleon Pi and other stuff whilst at home. I would love to use it to teach myself some basics of coding but more importantly I'd like to use it in school.

However, my problem is, as enthusiastic as I am, I'm unsure of why should I use a Raspberry Pi with the kids instead of the school laptops.
I feel a bit of a fool for asking.

Thanks.

redhawk

Re: Why use a RPi at school?

Tue Apr 22, 2014 12:33 pm

I personally don't buy the argument that a Pi is a good for teaching computer languages therefore every school needs one, any desktop PC with software is just as capable (anyone remember the RM Nimbus??).

However, the Pi with it's GPIO interface does offer something more hands on and interesting than aimlessly tapping on the screen of an iPad or laptop mouse pad.
So you could connect switches, LEDs, LCDs, sensors, get the kids to write simple games etc I'm sure there are plenty of things you could do with a Pi.

Richard S.

jamesh
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator

Tue Apr 22, 2014 12:50 pm

Well worth checking out the various comments in here and the other educational sub-forums. Lots of teachers posting, especially those who have just been to the Pi academy.

Also here...http://www.raspberrypi.org/community/

and here ...http://www.raspberrypi.org/resources/teach/
Principal Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi (Trading) Ltd.
Contrary to popular belief, humorous signatures are allowed. Here's an example...
"My grief counseller just died, luckily, he was so good, I didn't care."

liz
Raspberry Pi Foundation Employee & Forum Moderator