stevo_300

Re: Projects To Try

Wed Feb 08, 2012 1:52 pm

Hello All,

I am fairly new to programming. Learnt a bit of Java at Uni which gave me a base understanding of control structures/reusable code etc. Since then I have have dabbled in VB.NET, php, html, asp/x and jquery.

Although the web languages are somewhat useful when it comes to sharing stuff with the world. Programs are the things that really interest me.

here comes my dilemma, I look at the RaspberryPi as a kick start into all things Linux and also programming.

I have looked and the tutorials from @FraserLiam and like what I see with Python.

I am definitely a learn by doing type of guy. My problem is coming up with a project to try... That is why I am here, I have a VM set up with similar specs to the RPi, Python installed with Geany, and was wondering if someone could suggest a program/game that I could try to build that would make me have to go out and read the reference sheets and learn the language in an interesting but directed manner...

All progress to be updated here, I will also post files on my website for others to look over with explanations of the code...

Thanks all!

nmahoney

Wed Feb 08, 2012 4:38 pm

You could pick a card game you know well.

Writing code to represent a deck of cards is normally simple enough in any language and should get you thinking about code reuse pretty early on.

It's also the kind of thing that you can make quite simple then build up in stages. eg:

start with command line interface, move up to graphical
add sound effects/animation to the graphical interface
add automated computer opponent players in the game
add network communication to allow players to be on different machines

That the sort of project idea you're after?

stevo_300

Wed Feb 08, 2012 7:06 pm

That's perfect.

I had also thought about a 'keepy uppy' style game... but this sounds good too.

I will post my progress for anyone that wants to read it.

Jaseman

Wed Feb 08, 2012 7:33 pm