erichabg
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jun 01, 2013 9:29 am

Which resources does the TV HAT use?

Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:12 am

Hello,
Which resources (GPIO's) does the new TV use?
Or to put it another way, which GPIOs are still available for other applications?

Regards
Erich

User avatar
rpdom
Posts: 14770
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 5:17 am
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, UK

Re: Which resources does the TV HAT use?

Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:15 am

As I understand it, it uses the SPI port and the HAT ID I2C connection and that's all.

scotty101
Posts: 3649
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:03 pm

Re: Which resources does the TV HAT use?

Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:32 am

Would be good if someone who knew what pins were used would raise a pull request on https://pinout.xyz/
Electronic and Computer Engineer
Pi Interests: Home Automation, IOT, Python and Tkinter

6by9
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 7026
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:27 am
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, aka just outside Cambridge.

Re: Which resources does the TV HAT use?

Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:22 am

https://github.com/raspberrypi/linux/bl ... verlay.dts

Code: Select all

	fragment@0 {
		target = <&spi0>;
		__overlay__ {
			/* needed to avoid dtc warning */
			#address-cells = <1>;
			#size-cells = <0>;

			status = "okay";

			spidev@0 {
				status = "disabled";
			};

			cxd2880@0 {
				compatible = "sony,cxd2880";
				reg = <0>; /* CE0 */
				spi-max-frequency = <50000000>;
				status = "okay";
			};
		};
};
So SPI0 with CE0.
Being a HAT it will have an ID EEPROM to trigger the loading of this overlay.
Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

Return to “HATs and other add-ons”