Page 1 of 1

TV Hat - HD

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:39 am
by tim11pop
Hello All,

I'm having an issue with the TV hat and HD frequencies. using the tvheadend I'm able to tune into the 634MHz frequency and pull through the usual BBC HD frequencies.

However if I use anything else, I'm unable to tune into this frequency.

E.g. if I run the below:

scan-s2 -a 0 -o vdr -x -2 -X -U moi-634.conf where the conf file contains: T 634000000 8MHz NONE QAM256. I get a tuning error.
dvblast -f 634000000 -c bb1hd.conf -X 32 -G 128 -m qam_256 -b 8 -i 1 it loads but just hangs where it would normally tune in.

I can stream the normal SD quality channels through these without any issues.

Does anyone know how the tvheadend is tuning into the frequencies?

I've run these commands on a different tuner machine and they run nicely, I took some of the details from them to test.

Re: TV Hat - HD

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:50 am
by DougieLawson
Try sudo apt update && sudo apt -y dist-upgrade

There's been some updates to the channel maps for the UK (it's because of the change to free up 5G mobile phone frequencies). apt dist-upgrade should bring in the updates for that stuff.

Re: TV Hat - HD

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:55 am
by tim11pop
Thanks for the response, think I'm all up to date from that side other than the below:
python-mote python3-mote realvnc-vnc-server realvnc-vnc-viewer

Re: TV Hat - HD

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 12:45 pm
by 6by9
Sorry Dougie, you're optimistic on that one.
The upstream for dtv-scan-tables only grabbed the new UK channel assignments on 27/9/2018. The previous settings were from Nov 2014 in our case (uk-SandyHeath)!
"apt-cache show dtv-scan-tables" says

Code: Select all

Filename: pool/main/d/dtv-scan-tables/dtv-scan-tables_0+git20161227.ac7535a-1_all.deb
so 2016. Any retunes since then will be missing.

That said, I'm not certain where tvheadend gets their settings from. I haven't had to enter details manually until this latest retune.

Re: TV Hat - HD

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:03 pm
by DougieLawson
/me sits here smug that UK-Hannington's MUXes are all OK in the scan tables.

Hannington was one of only two group-E transmitters when we were analog. It needed a special aerial to get Channel 4 & Channel 5 (which were out of band compared to the other analog channels). It's all got better with DVB-T and DVB-T2 and we've been reclassified to group-B.

Re: TV Hat - HD

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:08 pm
by jdb
In theory the network information table (NIT) should provide details of the frequencies/muxes on the transmitter in question. It's odd that successfully tuning to an SD signal doesn't discover the T2 multiplexes - are they considered separate networks?

Re: TV Hat - HD

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:53 pm
by 6by9
I've emailed ShiftPlusOne and he'll be looking to update the versions of both dtv-scan-tables and tvheadend in the repos.

LibreElec is likely to be fairly close to the cutting edge anyway, so there may not be such a need if using that for tvheadend anyway.

Re: TV Hat - HD

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:28 pm
by balanga
I've only just come across the TV Hat and wondered if anyone knew if there was a satellite version in the pipeline - ie DVB-S2....

Re: TV Hat - HD

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:42 pm
by fruitoftheloom
balanga wrote:
Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:28 pm
I've only just come across the TV Hat and wondered if anyone knew if there was a satellite version in the pipeline - ie DVB-S2....


You are not aware of the Blog Announcement from last month ??

https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/raspberry-pi-tv-hat/

viewtopic.php?f=35&t=225036

Re: TV Hat - HD

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:43 pm
by 6by9
balanga wrote:
Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:28 pm
I've only just come across the TV Hat and wondered if anyone knew if there was a satellite version in the pipeline - ie DVB-S2....
As noted in the blog post, no, there is no satellite version.
There are USB DVB-S2 tuners available that work with Linux, although many of them are hard to get hold of these days. See https://www.linuxtv.org/wiki/index.php/ ... SB_Devices for the list of supported USB devices.

Re: TV Hat - HD

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 4:43 pm
by pthagonal
6by9 wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:53 pm
I've emailed ShiftPlusOne and he'll be looking to update the versions of both dtv-scan-tables and tvheadend in the repos.

LibreElec is likely to be fairly close to the cutting edge anyway, so there may not be such a need if using that for tvheadend anyway.
If at all possible, bumping dvb-tools from the current 1.12.3-1 to 1.14.2-1 or newer (sid has 1.16.1-1) could also add stability for the tv hat. I'm seeing quite a few "Error in `dvbv5-zap': double free or corruption (fasttop)" which I'm suspecting is due to the older tools.

Re: TV Hat - HD

Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:35 am
by hippy
balanga wrote:
Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:28 pm
I've only just come across the TV Hat and wondered if anyone knew if there was a satellite version in the pipeline - ie DVB-S2....
Within the comments on https://www.raspberrypi.org/blog/raspberry-pi-tv-hat
It requires a different chipset and cable/satellite have the complexity of encrypted streams, so not imminently, but it’s something we are thinking about.

Re: TV Hat - HD

Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:32 pm
by noggin
jdb wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:08 pm
In theory the network information table (NIT) should provide details of the frequencies/muxes on the transmitter in question. It's odd that successfully tuning to an SD signal doesn't discover the T2 multiplexes - are they considered separate networks?
It appears there is a split (at least in TV Headend) - as TV Headend will automatically find the other DVB-T SD Muxes when it tunes to one SD Mux, (I usually just add PSB1 with Network discovery enabled), but you have to add the PSB3, COM7 and COM8 T2 muxes manually (if you don't use a pre-programmed mux list)

Re: TV Hat - HD

Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 5:49 pm
by drgeoff
BTW Poundland (UK) are selling the XBox One TV Tuner for £5. Works fine (SD and HD) with LibreElec and Tvheadend on a RPi.

Re: TV Hat - HD

Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 7:07 pm
by jonesypeter
I've had no issues with HD. We use the Crystal Palace transmitter.