DroidAlbatross
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 11:03 am

Auto-update from 20150102

Mon May 04, 2015 12:03 pm

ccrisan, firstly, many thanks, excellent project !
ccrisan wrote:Read the note below the changelog: https://github.com/ccrisan/motionPie/re ... g/20150331.
I've got "Current Version 20150102" on my pi A+. I've tried making the changes suggested in the link, but when I do, I don't see "Welcome to motionPie!" on the HDMI and the Pi reboots.
Investigating motioneye.log, I see:

Code: Select all

   File "/programs/motioneye/src/update.py", line 1, in <module>
    import ssl; ssl._create_default_https_context = ssl._create_unverified_context
AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute '_create_unverified_context'
Having googled that, it appears that the '_create_unverified_context' is supported in Python 2.7.9, but

Code: Select all

 python --version  
Python 2.7.8
I'm presuming that one of the previous updated between 20150102 and 20150331, updated Python?
1) Is there any way I can update Python, to allow the auto-update to work?
2) Is there a way to manually update, without having to rewrite the SD card and, presumably, lose my settings?
3) If I have to rewrite the card, what files do I have to save, and restore, to keep my settings?

User avatar
ccrisan
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 7:59 am
Contact: Website Yahoo Messenger

Re: Auto-update from 20150102

Mon May 04, 2015 7:44 pm

You have indeed an older version. Try updating normally and see if it works. You might need to update twice to get to 20150331.
DroidAlbatross wrote:ccrisan, firstly, many thanks, excellent project !
ccrisan wrote:Read the note below the changelog: https://github.com/ccrisan/motionPie/re ... g/20150331.
I've got "Current Version 20150102" on my pi A+. I've tried making the changes suggested in the link, but when I do, I don't see "Welcome to motionPie!" on the HDMI and the Pi reboots.
Investigating motioneye.log, I see:

Code: Select all

   File "/programs/motioneye/src/update.py", line 1, in <module>
    import ssl; ssl._create_default_https_context = ssl._create_unverified_context
AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute '_create_unverified_context'
Having googled that, it appears that the '_create_unverified_context' is supported in Python 2.7.9, but

Code: Select all

 python --version  
Python 2.7.8
I'm presuming that one of the previous updated between 20150102 and 20150331, updated Python?
1) Is there any way I can update Python, to allow the auto-update to work?
2) Is there a way to manually update, without having to rewrite the SD card and, presumably, lose my settings?
3) If I have to rewrite the card, what files do I have to save, and restore, to keep my settings?

DroidAlbatross
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 11:03 am

Re: Auto-update from 20150102

Mon May 04, 2015 9:49 pm

ccrisan wrote:You have indeed an older version. Try updating normally and see if it works. You might need to update twice to get to 20150331.
I did try the normal update first. It offers me 20150331, but then errors.
motioneye.log shows: (sorry for the Windows formatting! )

Code: Select all

2015-05-04 21:59:12: INFO: updating to version 20150331...

2015-05-04 21:59:12: INFO: killing motioneye init script...
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] pid | jobspec ...  or kill -l [sigspec]

2015-05-04 21:59:13: INFO: downloading  https://github.com/ccrisan/motionPie/releases/download/20150331/motionPie-20150331.img.gz...
--
2015-05-04 21:59:13--  https://github.com/ccrisan/motionPie/releases/download/20150331/motionPie- 20150331.img.gz
 
Resolving github.com... 192.30.252.131
 
Connecting to github.com|192.30.252.131|:443... connected.
WARNING: cannot verify github.com's certificate, issued by  '/C=US/O=DigiCert Inc/OU=www.digicert.com/CN=DigiCert SHA2 Extended Validation Server CA':
  Unable to locally  verify the issuer's authority.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 404 Not Found

2015-05-04 21:59:13 ERROR 404: Not Found.


2015-05-04 21:59:13: ERROR: could not download update: Command '['/usr/bin/wget',  u'https://github.com/ccrisan/motionPie/releases/download/20150331/motionPie-20150331.img.gz', '--no-check- certificate', '-O', '/data/.firmware_update/firmware.gz']' returned non-zero exit status 8

2015-05-04 21:59:13: ERROR: Command '['/usr/bin/wget',  u'https://github.com/ccrisan/motionPie/releases/download/20150331/motionPie-20150331.img.gz', '--no-check- certificate', '-O', '/data/.firmware_update/firmware.gz']' returned non-zero exit status 8
 
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "media/data/pi/motionPie/output/target/usr/lib/python2.7/site- packages/tornado/web.py", line 1141, in _when_complete
  File  "media/data/pi/motionPie/output/target/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/tornado/web.py", line 1162, in  _execute_method
  File "/programs/motioneye/src/handlers.py", line 118, in wrapper
    return func(self, *args, **kwargs)
   File "/programs/motioneye/src/handlers.py", line 1286, in post
    result = update.perform_update(version)
  File  "/programs/motioneye/src/update.py", line 168, in perform_update
    download(version)
  File  "/programs/motioneye/src/update.py", line 104, in download
    subprocess.check_call(['/usr/bin/wget', url, '--no- check-certificate', '-O', _DOWNLOAD_FILE_NAME])
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/subprocess.py", line 540, in check_call
 CalledProcessError: Command '['/usr/bin/wget',  u'https://github.com/ccrisan/motionPie/releases/download/20150331/motionPie-20150331.img.gz', '--no-check- certificate', '-O', '/data/.firmware_update/firmware.gz']' returned non-zero exit status 8

2015-05-04 21:59:13: ERROR: 500 POST /update/?version=20150331&_=1430772051298&_username=admin&_signature=********* (192.168.1.80) 988.64ms

Is there any way to manually specify an update to a specific version, so that I could step through the versions?

User avatar
ccrisan
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 7:59 am
Contact: Website Yahoo Messenger

Re: Auto-update from 20150102

Tue May 05, 2015 7:24 am

Nope, there's no easy way to update in your case. You'll need to manually backup your data partition and restore it after you install the latest version from scratch.
DroidAlbatross wrote:
ccrisan wrote:You have indeed an older version. Try updating normally and see if it works. You might need to update twice to get to 20150331.
I did try the normal update first. It offers me 20150331, but then errors.
motioneye.log shows: (sorry for the Windows formatting! )

Code: Select all

2015-05-04 21:59:12: INFO: updating to version 20150331...

2015-05-04 21:59:12: INFO: killing motioneye init script...
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] pid | jobspec ...  or kill -l [sigspec]

2015-05-04 21:59:13: INFO: downloading  https://github.com/ccrisan/motionPie/releases/download/20150331/motionPie-20150331.img.gz...
--
2015-05-04 21:59:13--  https://github.com/ccrisan/motionPie/releases/download/20150331/motionPie- 20150331.img.gz
 
Resolving github.com... 192.30.252.131
 
Connecting to github.com|192.30.252.131|:443... connected.
WARNING: cannot verify github.com's certificate, issued by  '/C=US/O=DigiCert Inc/OU=www.digicert.com/CN=DigiCert SHA2 Extended Validation Server CA':
  Unable to locally  verify the issuer's authority.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 404 Not Found

2015-05-04 21:59:13 ERROR 404: Not Found.


2015-05-04 21:59:13: ERROR: could not download update: Command '['/usr/bin/wget',  u'https://github.com/ccrisan/motionPie/releases/download/20150331/motionPie-20150331.img.gz', '--no-check- certificate', '-O', '/data/.firmware_update/firmware.gz']' returned non-zero exit status 8

2015-05-04 21:59:13: ERROR: Command '['/usr/bin/wget',  u'https://github.com/ccrisan/motionPie/releases/download/20150331/motionPie-20150331.img.gz', '--no-check- certificate', '-O', '/data/.firmware_update/firmware.gz']' returned non-zero exit status 8
 
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "media/data/pi/motionPie/output/target/usr/lib/python2.7/site- packages/tornado/web.py", line 1141, in _when_complete
  File  "media/data/pi/motionPie/output/target/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/tornado/web.py", line 1162, in  _execute_method
  File "/programs/motioneye/src/handlers.py", line 118, in wrapper
    return func(self, *args, **kwargs)
   File "/programs/motioneye/src/handlers.py", line 1286, in post
    result = update.perform_update(version)
  File  "/programs/motioneye/src/update.py", line 168, in perform_update
    download(version)
  File  "/programs/motioneye/src/update.py", line 104, in download
    subprocess.check_call(['/usr/bin/wget', url, '--no- check-certificate', '-O', _DOWNLOAD_FILE_NAME])
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/subprocess.py", line 540, in check_call
 CalledProcessError: Command '['/usr/bin/wget',  u'https://github.com/ccrisan/motionPie/releases/download/20150331/motionPie-20150331.img.gz', '--no-check- certificate', '-O', '/data/.firmware_update/firmware.gz']' returned non-zero exit status 8

2015-05-04 21:59:13: ERROR: 500 POST /update/?version=20150331&_=1430772051298&_username=admin&_signature=********* (192.168.1.80) 988.64ms

Is there any way to manually specify an update to a specific version, so that I could step through the versions?

DroidAlbatross
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 11:03 am

Re: Auto-update from 20150102

Tue May 05, 2015 12:07 pm

ccrisan wrote:Nope, there's no easy way to update in your case. You'll need to manually backup your data partition and restore it after you install the latest version from scratch.
OK, thanks!
Just for clarification, when I look at my 8Gb card, in a Ubuntu VM, I have 3 partitions 17Mb (boot partition?), 126Mb (programs?) and one of 7.8Gb (containing, in my case, etc, log, media & output) - it's this last one that I want to backup?

A completely unrelated question - if I delete the motion movies, from within the web-GUI, it appears that the .thumb files get left behind, is this deliberate, or should they be being deleted too?

User avatar
ccrisan
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 7:59 am
Contact: Website Yahoo Messenger

Re: Auto-update from 20150102

Tue May 05, 2015 12:10 pm

Yes, the big 7.8 GB is the one you need to backup. The rest are read-only and are completely rewritten upon update. For reference, here is a small article on the partition layout.

The .thumb files should normally also get deleted with recent versions.
DroidAlbatross wrote:
ccrisan wrote:Nope, there's no easy way to update in your case. You'll need to manually backup your data partition and restore it after you install the latest version from scratch.
OK, thanks!
Just for clarification, when I look at my 8Gb card, in a Ubuntu VM, I have 3 partitions 17Mb (boot partition?), 126Mb (programs?) and one of 7.8Gb (containing, in my case, etc, log, media & output) - it's this last one that I want to backup?

A completely unrelated question - if I delete the motion movies, from within the web-GUI, it appears that the .thumb files get left behind, is this deliberate, or should they be being deleted too?

DroidAlbatross
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 11:03 am

Re: Auto-update from 20150102

Tue May 05, 2015 7:01 pm

ccrisan wrote:Yes, the big 7.8 GB is the one you need to backup. The rest are read-only and are completely rewritten upon update. For reference, here is a small article on the partition layout.
Many thanks, successfully updated!

Thaui
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 8:32 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Surveillance camera based on BuildRoot and Motion

Sun May 10, 2015 8:45 am

Have a funny behaviour in the motion pie GUI. When I have dialed in, the frame of the preview changes between red and grey. I have several more cameras and the streaming frame is grey on all the other cams. Had anybody a similar behaviour and knows what is causing this issue? CPU overload, too slow SD card, slow Wifi connection . Maybe only Calin can help. Thanks for any feedback.

DroidAlbatross
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 11:03 am

Re: Surveillance camera based on BuildRoot and Motion

Sun May 10, 2015 11:58 am

Thaui wrote:the frame of the preview changes between red and grey.
The frame changes colour to indicate that motion has been detected. Is this happening without you seeing any motion?

User avatar
ccrisan
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 7:59 am
Contact: Website Yahoo Messenger

Re: Surveillance camera based on BuildRoot and Motion

Sat May 16, 2015 8:43 pm

A new prerelease version is out: https://github.com/ccrisan/motionpie/re ... g/20150516. Please test it and let me know of any problems you may find.

Thaui
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 8:32 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Surveillance camera based on BuildRoot and Motion

Wed May 20, 2015 5:35 am

Nice to see that the development is ongoing. :)


mad_marko
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 11:25 am

Re: Surveillance camera based on BuildRoot and Motion

Sun May 24, 2015 8:44 pm

hi all, since the last 2 versions I've only been able to select 320x240 as the resolution, am I doing something wrong?

User avatar
ccrisan
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 7:59 am
Contact: Website Yahoo Messenger

Re: Surveillance camera based on BuildRoot and Motion

Sun May 24, 2015 9:22 pm

Probably not. Please use this link to see how to report the issue on github, so others can track the state of this problem. Also please provide more details regarding what type of camera and PI model you use.
mad_marko wrote:hi all, since the last 2 versions I've only been able to select 320x240 as the resolution, am I doing something wrong?

mad_marko
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 11:25 am

Re: Surveillance camera based on BuildRoot and Motion

Sun May 24, 2015 9:27 pm

ccrisan - Thanks for the response and thanks for the fantastic application, it brings me great comfort to see my pets when i'm out!

I think it was my fault, or Chrome's. My Chrome still does this, what's happening is that only the selected menu option (all menus not just resolution) is visible, only when you scroll down can you see other resolutions.

parsl
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 11:41 am

Re: Surveillance camera based on BuildRoot and Motion

Tue May 26, 2015 12:24 pm

MotionPie is so good that its making MotionEye look bad. I want to add things like a DDNS client and "Weaved IoT Kit for Raspberry Pi" to my MotionPie but finding difficult because of the busybox/buildroot base. I tried installing MotionEye on the standard rasbian image but found many features missing like SMB, FTP access, WiFi config and USB automount.

Is there a a way for me to manually install the full MotionPie software on a Rasbian OS?

User avatar
ccrisan
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 7:59 am
Contact: Website Yahoo Messenger

Re: Surveillance camera based on BuildRoot and Motion

Tue May 26, 2015 1:13 pm

MotionPie is the OS itself. It has nothing to do with Raspbian and cannot be "installed" on any other OS. If you need DDNS, you could simply request the URL using wget or curl. The code could be placed in cron - there's cron support in the latest version, I just did not find the time to document it. For now, you could use crontab -e to edit the cron file.
parsl wrote:MotionPie is so good that its making MotionEye look bad. I want to add things like a DDNS client and "Weaved IoT Kit for Raspberry Pi" to my MotionPie but finding difficult because of the busybox/buildroot base. I tried installing MotionEye on the standard rasbian image but found many features missing like SMB, FTP access, WiFi config and USB automount.

Is there a a way for me to manually install the full MotionPie software on a Rasbian OS?

Abshole
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2013 12:59 am

Re: Surveillance camera based on BuildRoot and Motion

Fri May 29, 2015 12:10 am

What's the best way about doing the scheduling? I want to capture motion but don't want it going off while i'm actually home. The Work schedule is great, but could there be a "sleeping schedule" too?

Thaui
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 8:32 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Surveillance camera based on BuildRoot and Motion

Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:21 am

The last version is running quite stable. Thanks for the improvments. Currently I have four raspberry pi cams running connected to a zwave homeautomation system.

User avatar
ccrisan
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 7:59 am
Contact: Website Yahoo Messenger

Re: Surveillance camera based on BuildRoot and Motion

Thu Jun 04, 2015 6:36 am

It's great to see some happy users every now and then.
Thaui wrote:The last version is running quite stable. Thanks for the improvments. Currently I have four raspberry pi cams running connected to a zwave homeautomation system.

RPi85
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 10:42 pm

Re: Surveillance camera based on BuildRoot and Motion

Thu Jun 11, 2015 7:59 pm

I would love to take a picture every x min for timelapse videos, but also need images during motion. Is this possible or in the planning?

d0n350n
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2015 2:53 am

Re: Surveillance camera based on BuildRoot and Motion

Fri Jun 12, 2015 3:07 am

Just look in the folder where the timelapse pics are stored before processing, you can look till your hearts desire...
Attachments
rsz_time.png
rsz_time.png (40.26 KiB) Viewed 3575 times

m4rky
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 8:57 pm

Re: Surveillance camera based on BuildRoot and Motion

Fri Jun 12, 2015 12:27 pm

Hi,

I have been trying to use the RpiCam Web Interface for some time and I had it working ok at first but its stopped so I put my three Rpi Cameras into a box. Until now.
I have been looking at MotionPie and I am keen to try it out.

What I want to be able to do is setup three cameras around the outside of my house. I want the system to email me when motion is detected and automatically record video in as high a quality image as possible.

I am happy to setup another PC for the monitoring/motion part as I know the rPi doesn't have much horsepower to run motion and record 1080p plus there isn't much diskspace available on a pi.
Does the Rpi2 with it better processor and memory have the ability to do 1080p motion and recording?

Am I correct in saying I can setup MotionPie on 3 separate Rpi's with Rpi-Cameras and a separate PC with MotionEye that monitors the three MotionPie's and does the Motion detection/emailing/recording?

I have a VMware server that I want to create a Virtual Machine on to be the MotionEye PC.
Is there a VMWare image/appliance with it already on?
If not is the MotionEye software an OS image or do I need to install a Linux OS?

Sorry for all the questions, I am excited at getting this CCTV project back up and running :)

User avatar
ccrisan
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2012 7:59 am
Contact: Website Yahoo Messenger

Re: Surveillance camera based on BuildRoot and Motion

Fri Jun 12, 2015 2:34 pm

Yes, you're better off using a separate machine with motionEye. Soon motionPie for RPi will have a special feature called "Fast Network Camera" that will make use of the GPU to encode the MJPEG stream.
m4rky wrote:Hi,

I have been trying to use the RpiCam Web Interface for some time and I had it working ok at first but its stopped so I put my three Rpi Cameras into a box. Until now.
I have been looking at MotionPie and I am keen to try it out.

What I want to be able to do is setup three cameras around the outside of my house. I want the system to email me when motion is detected and automatically record video in as high a quality image as possible.

I am happy to setup another PC for the monitoring/motion part as I know the rPi doesn't have much horsepower to run motion and record 1080p plus there isn't much diskspace available on a pi.
Does the Rpi2 with it better processor and memory have the ability to do 1080p motion and recording?

Am I correct in saying I can setup MotionPie on 3 separate Rpi's with Rpi-Cameras and a separate PC with MotionEye that monitors the three MotionPie's and does the Motion detection/emailing/recording?

I have a VMware server that I want to create a Virtual Machine on to be the MotionEye PC.
Is there a VMWare image/appliance with it already on?
If not is the MotionEye software an OS image or do I need to install a Linux OS?

Sorry for all the questions, I am excited at getting this CCTV project back up and running :)

m4rky
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 8:57 pm

Re: Surveillance camera based on BuildRoot and Motion

Fri Jun 12, 2015 2:37 pm

ccrisan wrote:Yes, you're better off using a separate machine with motionEye. Soon motionPie for RPi will have a special feature called "Fast Network Camera" that will make use of the GPU to encode the MJPEG stream.
Cool. How do I install MotionEye ??

Return to “Camera board”