BeardinmyPi

Pi as a car audio head unit

Thu Sep 26, 2013 7:38 am

Hello everyone. I am very new to this so ill try and be as eloquent as possible. I'm wanting help with an idea i have. I have an old car (1954) that needs a stereo and i was thinking, why not use a raspberry pi? The possible problem is i dont want to use an actual cd player head unit, because i dont want to remove the oem radio and i think that cd players slapped in the dash look trashy. Ideally i'd like to have the pi in the glove box with a 1TB portable HDD connected and a bluetooth receiver. Then connect that to a slide out 7" touch screen hidden under the dash. Then of corse have the usual speakers and amp set up. Has anyone done this before or have any ideas about how i would go about achieving this? Did i actually make any sense? I want to be able to control the music through either my phone (via bluetooth) or the touch screen. Even do away with the touch screen if possible to be completely mobile. How would i go about powering the pi from the ignition and not having it run all the time or having to reboot everytime i turn the car on. Or should i not bother and just put a cd player in the car. I really hope someone can help me with this as i think it is a really cool idea.

Thanks

wouterel

Re: Pi as a car audio head unit

Thu Sep 26, 2013 9:11 am

It's not unlikely that someone has done this already. Not me. But I can tell you one of the many ways this would work. I'm sure there will be others who think they have a superior idea... and they should just post below ;-).