jmn98

High voltage device with R-Pi brain

Thu Dec 13, 2018 3:53 am

Hi all,

I'm relatively new with R-Pis and have a few questions about a device I'm trying to make: it's a device for surveying groundwater and I'm aiming to make it and test it so it will be freely available to communities in developing countries.

The aim:
- Input high voltage (24, 300 and 600 Vpeak square wave AC) into the groud via electrodes
- Have the Pi select which 2 electrodes are used via demultiplexers and bank of relays
- Take voltage measurements via other pairs of electrodes, again selected by Pi via deulitplexers and bank of relays (expected to be 10 mV to 10 V)
- At the same time as each voltage measurement is take, take a measurment of the supply current (expected to be 100 - 500 mA)
- Automatically cycle through a whole lot of combinations of electrodes (there will be 8 in the ground for intial prototype, many more in future)

There will be a number of modules I need to design:
- Supply module
- Electrode switching module
- Voltage measurement module
- Current measuremnt module
- R Pi

1. Supply module:
- 2 x GPIOs to control 2 x NPN trasistors which in turn switch 4 x reed relays essentially creating a DPDT switch which oscillates at whatever frequency is dictated by the GPIOs
- Relays to have diode protection on coil, GPIO to have 1k series resistor on input to transistor
- Q1a) Does this setup make sense to create a squarewave source from a DC input? Is there a much better way to achieve this? The DC input will be rectified and smoothed AC for the higher voltage version.
- Q1b) If I go with this current set-up do I need to add any other componenets to make sure the Pi doesn't fry? I've prototyped is and it works with 5 Vdc input but I've not tried 24 V yet.

2. Electrode switching module