joshdaniel36

Railway Engineering Project- RFID interfacing LCD PI3

Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:20 pm

Hi all,

This is my first post so just so you have an idea where I am coming from I am an electrical engineering apprentice on traction and rolling stock (trains). As part of my project I am implementing a new stop board which hangs from the trains (one on each end) roughly 35 x 35cm in size. At the moment they are very basic and our isolation procedures are out dated. I am creating a key switch which stops the trains from starting whilst workers are beneath the trains, a lot like lock off tag off which is used in industry. The switch will send a signal to my board to simply turn an LED on to say it is isolated. Beyond this i want an RFID system so that engineers walking around the depot can easily identify who is working on that train at that time.
I want to use the following components, but if anyone has any better suggestions go ahead by all means as this is only what I have perceived to be correct;
-PI3 which I have already bought
-RFID module
-LCD module 16 x 2

The process for this system would be as follows;
1.Engineer presents RFID tag to board
2.Board recognises this and displays the persons initials and personal ID number (upto 2 persons)
3.Board presents these details on the board
4.Engineer completes job and then presents tag on the board
5.Board recognises this and removes the initials and personal ID number from the board

I am just wondering if any of you guys can point me in vaguely the correct direction as I am really struggling due to this being my first venture into the coding world.

Thank you for any help or guidance in advance :)

Josh.

boyoh

Re: Railway Engineering Project- RFID interfacing LCD PI3

Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:41 pm

joshdaniel36 wrote:Hi all,