Jamerman

Need help with IDE and USB connections

Fri Apr 17, 2015 9:13 pm

Got an old non-functioning hard drive, wanted to use it as a case for Pi (making it into a synthesizer, controlled via a USB midi keyboard). So I removed the disk and am left with a female molex connector and a 39-pin IDE bus (I assume these are what they are since I have had no experience with how hard drives are connected before today) on the inside, and on the outside a 12V and 5V power in/out socket, on/off switch, and a USB-B socket.

Inside case:

Outside case:

The power supply seems fairly simple; just cut the plastic end of the molex connector off, solder the Red and Black molex wires (5V in / out respectively) to a micro usb.

However the more complicated part is with getting the midi signal from the keyboard to the Pi. The keyboard outputs with a USB type B socket, fine. But then connecting that to the new case is an issue. It seems I would need a type B to type B cable. Do they even work? I understand electronically type A and B are identical, but would the keyboard still send data through to the type B connector?

The other issue is with the inside of the case having IDE pins, which in the the original hard drive would read/write on the disk. But here I simply want to use the pins to give me the output of the keyboard into the USB on the Pi. I found a pinout image of what all the pins do on the IDE, but with 16 different pins for data (0-15) compared to USB 2.0's Data +/- pins, I really have no idea what I'm doing here.

So those are the two main issues; Does Usb B to Usb B work, and are IDE pins even compatible with USB 2.0?

Thank you, and please tell me if any of this is impossible, or if there's a better way of doing it, etc. Cheers :D

kyled2012

Re: Need help with IDE and USB connections

Mon Apr 20, 2015 5:22 am