verrochio
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2016 10:54 am

Raspberry pi 4 clone displays?

Sun Sep 08, 2019 9:43 pm

Hey, I couldn't find any information on how I go about cloning the displays on the new Pi just like the "Clone" display in windows or mac.
Does anyone have any ideas where to start looking? The included display settings app donesn't seem to have any option for display mode.

6by9
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Raspberry Pi Engineer & Forum Moderator
Posts: 7398
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:27 am
Location: ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, aka just outside Cambridge.

Re: Raspberry pi 4 clone displays?

Mon Sep 09, 2019 11:36 am

The Screen Configuration app allows you to overlay the two displays, therefore giving you a clone (that tends to be the default).

What isn't exposed by that application is scaling the screens should they be different resolutions. The simplest approach to solving that is to change the resolution of the display. Alternatively xrandr does support a --scale option, however that resize is fairly inefficient and hit performance quite badly when I just tried it (xrandr --output HDMI-2 --same-as HDMI-1 --scale 2.0x2.0)
Software Engineer at Raspberry Pi Trading. Views expressed are still personal views.
I'm not interested in doing contracts for bespoke functionality - please don't ask.

Return to “Graphics, sound and multimedia”