jmcdufff

Circle TFT Display?

Mon Jul 24, 2017 1:58 pm

So I found this old radio that I thought would be really cool to re-purpose into an internet radio. But the issue at hand is that a square screen just won't fit with the design of the radio. I've been looking and I can't find anything the remotely resembles a circular LCD display. Can anyone help me in this regard? If not, does anyone know if I could not use a circular display but use graphics that are the dimensions of the screen? What I'm trying to do is pretty easy but I have a lot graphic design background so I could easily come up with the design of it. Needless to say I'm pretty new at this whole Raspberry pi deal but I'm learning daily new stuff about it.

Pomgonewalkabout

Re: Circle TFT Display?

Wed Jul 26, 2017 9:32 am

Not sure if this helps but what I have done in one of my projects is to have a background title image displayed that I designed in Photoshop that has a keyhole with a transparent background.
Behind the image a series of pictures is displayed that move around and change.

Maybe you could draw a transparent circle the size of the speaker cutout and display that on a monitor placed behind the cutout.

The only problem is that the edges of the video footage will be missing but if you only want to display graphics then you can set where they appear within the circle by setting your coordinates.

A circular monitor would be great I agree.

http://deangale.com/south-australian-hi ... agination/

aBUGSworstnightmare

Wed Jul 26, 2017 12:09 pm

You will (most likely) not get hands on a circular display (yes, there are some out there), so what can be done is using a rectangular display and add a masking piece to it, leaving only the required diameter open (post a picture of your radio so we know what your talking about).
Can you give us an idea on the required diameter?

Masking displays off is quite common in automotive i.e.