PotatoHandle

USB soundcard "Line-in" hardware suggestions.

Fri Jul 27, 2012 3:33 am

Greets there fellas!

I'm hoping to turn my Pi into a small audio recorder. I have a screen with HDMI, USB ports and speakers, and I'm planning on using for this to keep the overall size down, so I can set it up near my electric drum kit for recording. I also want to hook it up to my PA and NAS, to play back music as well, but that part will be easy.

My main issue is that I don't know how to go about buying a sound card. Am I going to have to compile drivers myself? I'm generally pretty switched on, but I'm not a programmer, so this will prolly be beyond my scope. Alternatively, are there any cards that Raspbian will support natively?

My only real requirement at the moment for the card is that can capture a decent quality audio stream from a direct input such as a line in. (As opposed to a microphone input.) Which I'm pretty sure they all can anyways.

I haven't looked into software yet, but I'm pretty sure Audacity is already an available package, so i'll almost certainly be using that.

Thanks for any help!

redhawk

Re: USB soundcard "Line-in" hardware suggestions.

Fri Jul 27, 2012 8:47 am

If you wanted a ultra compact audio recorder with line-in I would have suggest an iRiver ifp-899 however this is all about the PI. :)
When it comes to USB sound devices with Line-In recording capability there isn't much to the choose from with a reasonable price tag.
Looking on eBay I can see a second hand Sound Blaster Live 24 external (SB0490) http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_nkw=sb0490 and a C-Media chipset based device http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/USB-2-0-Exter ... 1060335752
My little USB audio dongle is based on CM108 and works with the PI so I am pretty certain the C-Media sound device will also work.
You may find that the power supply from the PI's USB port is insufficient so an external power supply or powered hub would be needed.

Richard S.

ferrymanr

Sat Aug 04, 2012 7:43 am