terodox

Driving a DC to DC SSR for Solenoid Valve-Voltage leak issue

Fri Mar 14, 2014 4:32 pm

Hello All!

I'm fairly new to Raspberry Pi, but I'm a fairly old hat at electronics. Here's what I'm doing:

I have a kegerator with 4 taps. I also have two young children (one of whom just figured out how to open the taps). My basic plan is to have 4 solenoid valves that will prevent beer flowing unless an appropriate password is entered via a website hosted on my pi.

I have everything working to enable the gpio pin and automatically disable it after 2 minutes. The issue I'm having now is on the other side of this circuit. The SSR I'm using ( http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009EQG1UY ) is allowing some voltage (2.3-2.5 v ish) to leak through even when the SSR is not powered from the input side.

My concern is for the health of the solenoid valve if it being given a trickle of power over a long period of time. Is there a way to draw down this voltage before it reaches my valves? Should I not be using this tpye of SSR? Is there a better solution to this whole problem that I've simply overlooked?

Any and all help/advice would be wonderful.

Thanks in advance!

danjperron

Re: Driving a DC to DC SSR for Solenoid Valve-Voltage leak i

Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:15 pm

Hi the SSR has some leakage current and it is normal.

This current is needed to feed the electronic control of the solid state relay.

So 2VAC on 110VAC/220VAC doesn't have a big impact. Selenoid valve are only coil.
With this little leakage voltage , they won't heat than they won't be affected.

Daniel

terodox

Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:26 pm

Hey Daniel!

Thanks for the reply! The SSR I'm using is actually DC to DC. It's being powered by the 3.3V off the gpio port and the output side has a 12v DC power supply running across it.

That being said the 2.5V is now 20% of it's fully loaded voltage. If it were 1% as in the AC example you mentioned I would be much less concerned.

Thoughts?

iinnovations