AforAlex

Would like to control some motors, but where to start? Help

Thu May 31, 2012 8:36 pm

Hi, not 100% sure if this is the correct place to post, so please let me know if would be better posting else where.

I would like to connect my Pi up to a remote control car, either by driving the servo's directly, or by connecting it up and controlling the radio signal, but I am absolutely clueless where to start but very keen to learn. I was wondering whether someone is able and willing to point me in the direction to start? A good book, or a website of where someone has done something similar that I can use as a template/example/to instruct me.

My background is software engineering, at Uni I did something similar using pic controllers and a Technic Lego car but that was 10 years ago and I never really got involved in the electronic side of things as I concentrated mostly on the software to control it all. My electronic skills are very basic, done a bit of soldering and that's about it but its something I've always wanted to get into and try and understand.

Many thanks

Alex

mkopack

Re: Would like to control some motors, but where to start? H

Fri Jun 01, 2012 1:03 am

ok, driving the motors directly from the Pi without any additional components isn't going to happen - the pi can't put out anywhere near enough power on the pins to directly power a motor. You'll need to read up on motor controllers for doing that, and just use the Pi to send control signals to the motor controller chip to tell it how fast to go and what direction.

Servos work a bit differently... And those MIGHT be doable (I haven't messed with them in a while and don't remember off the top of my head.

Look at some of the Arduino stuff out there about motors and servos. Most of it will apply to the Pi's GPIO pins as well, but I believe you'll need them to work as Pulse Width Modulation (PWM) output to do what you want.

Hope this helps!

catmaker

Fri Jun 01, 2012 4:43 am