TheGreatGizmo

Where are good RF transmitters and receivers?

Sun Jan 26, 2014 6:09 am

I'm trying to design an alert system for a handicapped child that lives nearby me where the system will send an alert via SMS to their mother when the child gets too far from the house, and another when they re-enter the area. I assume and RF signal would be the best for that. My question is: Where can I find one reliable enough that it could detect distance of up to... let's say 150-200 ft. that could be calibrated to plus or minus 10 ft. or so? If you know which pins go where that would be helpful as well seeing as I've never worked with anything external before. Only the command terminal of the OS.

If you have a better idea for a sensor please let me know. It's for a handicapped 3 year old who figured out how to open doors, but can't communicate or reason well.

We're also looking into other options but I figured this one would be interesting for me to try.

Thanks for any info in advance!

TheGreatGizmo

Re: Where are good RF transmitters and receivers?

Sun Jan 26, 2014 6:19 am

Also is higher frequency better for wall penetration or lower? I see some 315Mhz and 433Mhz on Amazon for 5 bucks.

redhawk

Sun Jan 26, 2014 9:51 am

These transmitters and receiver modules you're referring to are basic in nature so you need to implement your own communication protocol.
As for 315MHz and 433MHz they do not have any benefit for range or penetration, however like all radios for optimum operation you need the correct antenna length - http://wb5mrn.com/ham/antenna.htm which would be a quarter wave dipole / whip for a piece of wire.
In some counties it's illegal to operator a radio transmitter on certain frequencies for example 315MHz is not a legal in the UK.
This is one of the reasons why these boards offer different operating frequencies apart from avoiding interference from other similar devices.

Richard S.
Last edited by redhawk on Sun Jan 26, 2014 2:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.