bstag
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 11:50 pm

Re: ROS on RPi

Mon Jul 16, 2012 6:00 pm


bstag
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 11:50 pm

Re: ROS on RPi

Thu Jul 19, 2012 5:34 am

Going to start this back up on new wheezy build. Will document little better packages and dependencies needed..

User avatar
mentar
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 11:47 am
Location: London
Contact: Website

Re: ROS on RPi

Thu Jul 19, 2012 10:26 am

Great, I'm moving stuff over to the new official Raspbian that was released yesterday, might as well use that. But need to figure out a way to persist ROS high level packages through future OS upgrades. I do need to write out a list of dependencies too, there are a LOT, to complicate matters Fuerte uses old versions of libraries like lib-boost v4.6 and assimp v1

bstag
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 11:50 pm

Re: ROS on RPi

Thu Jul 19, 2012 2:46 pm

mentar wrote:"But need to figure out a way to persist ROS high level packages through future OS upgrades. I do need to write out a list of dependencies too, there are a LOT, to complicate matters Fuerte uses old versions of libraries like lib-boost v4.6 and assimp v1
Ok we are on the same page I will beg up some resources if we get far enough along we might be able to get automated packing going for them. Let me talk to a couple people I know at willow and what not to see what we can do.

jeem
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 11:40 am
Contact: Website

Re: ROS on RPi

Thu Jul 26, 2012 12:49 am

Hello,

am I the only one to get

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi ~ $ rosinstall ~/ros "http://packages.ros.org/cgi-bin/gen_rosinstall.py?rosdistro=electric&variant=ros-full&overlay=no"
rosinstall operating on /home/pi/ros from specifications in rosinstall files  http://packages.ros.org/cgi-bin/gen_rosinstall.py?rosdistro=electric&variant=ros-full&overlay=no
(Over-)Writing /home/pi/ros/.rosinstall
(Over-)Writing setup.sh, setup.bash, and setup.zsh in /home/pi/ros
ERROR in rosinstall:
No 'ros' stack detected in candidates [].
Please add the location of a ros distribution to this command.

See http://ros.org/wiki/rosinstall.
Trying to install ros electric ros-full following the instructions provided here http://www.ros.org/wiki/electric/Installation/Debian ?

It seems that the file pointed by the url does not exist. Would you have another url to get the ros-full layer?
http://www.jeremy-nicola.info

jeem
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 11:40 am
Contact: Website

Re: ROS on RPi

Fri Jul 27, 2012 8:04 am

The problem is fixed now.
The file pointed at http://packages.ros.org/cgi-bin/gen_ros ... overlay=no is not empty anymore.
Time to play :)
http://www.jeremy-nicola.info

User avatar
mkopack
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:46 pm

Re: ROS on RPi

Fri Jul 27, 2012 1:31 pm

Yeah, I've had issues like that in the past. It seems like the ROS repositories have a tendency to be in flux at times and their servers changing. Usually means you just have to try again later.

jeem
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 11:40 am
Contact: Website

Re: ROS on RPi

Tue Jul 31, 2012 2:10 pm

Still having issues building electric, I am getting

Code: Select all

Linking CXX executable ../rosout
  /home/pi/ros/ros_comm/clients/cpp/roscpp/lib/libros.so: undefined reference to `.LBB▒p6'
when running

Code: Select all

rosinstall ~/ros "http://packages.ros.org/cgi-bin/gen_rosinstall.py?rosdistro=electric&variant=desktop-full&overlay=no"
( see http://answers.ros.org/question/40235/i ... reference/ )

Did you get the same issue?
It's definitely not *that easy* to install ros on Raspbian for now.
I will publish an image of my SD card as soon as I get it running.
http://www.jeremy-nicola.info

bstag
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 11:50 pm

Re: ROS on RPi

Tue Jul 31, 2012 7:17 pm

Hmm have not even tried electric. I am only using fuerte in my robots and in what i try and build.

jeem
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 11:40 am
Contact: Website

Re: ROS on RPi

Tue Jul 31, 2012 8:21 pm

Did you success in building ros fuerte from the official raspbian image?
http://www.jeremy-nicola.info

bstag
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 11:50 pm

Re: ROS on RPi

Wed Aug 01, 2012 6:52 pm

Most of it built. Dealing with ros_PCL and opencv stuff and documenting that. Right now i am not working on it much as i am also working on a rosserial that goes over wifi for small embedded linux systems. It has taken much of my time in recent days. Trying to help get it ready for release to the ROS community.

eagleofdeath13
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:29 pm

Re: ROS on RPi

Thu Aug 02, 2012 12:30 pm

I'll try to make Fuerte work on the Gentoo build, maybe better luck? (and i think perfs will be better ^^)

jeem
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2011 11:40 am
Contact: Website

Re: ROS on RPi

Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:37 pm

I successfully installed ROS Fuerte ROS-Full layer on Raspbian.

Here is an image of my SD card :
ROS Fuerte - Raspbian

It comes just with ROS-Full and its dependencies installed.
Because the build process is really long I thought it could help some of us to have a basic just-ROS-Full installation image.
The next step is to get more ros stacks installed.
http://www.jeremy-nicola.info

User avatar
mkopack
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:46 pm

Re: ROS on RPi

Wed Aug 08, 2012 7:58 pm

Awesome!

I hope my initial pains helped you somewhat along the way...

I have a Turtlebot setup here at the office that I built last summer that I'd like to redo with an RPi (or 2) as the brain instead of the big heavy power hungry laptop we were using. This will go a long way towards helping with that.

Great job!

--Mike

Davinci
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 11:02 am

Re: ROS on RPi

Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:31 pm

Thanks for the image! I tried it just now, but I have problem starting ROS.
Did you manage to change an environment variable with ROS?

Code: Select all

ERROR: Rosdep experienced an internal error: Could not detect OS, tried ['ubuntu', 'rhel', 'osx', 'opensuse', 'mint', 'gentoo', 'freebsd', 'fedora', 'debian', 'cygwin', 'arch']
Please go to the rosdep page [1] and file a bug report with the stack trace below.
[1] : http://www.ros.org/wiki/rosdep
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/rosdep2/main.py", line 111, in rosdep_main
    exit_code = _rosdep_main(args)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/rosdep2/main.py", line 232, in _rosdep_main
    return _package_args_handler(command, parser, options, args)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/rosdep2/main.py", line 255, in _package_args_handler
    lookup = _get_default_RosdepLookup(options)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/rosdep2/main.py", line 102, in _get_default_RosdepLookup
    verbose=options.verbose)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/rosdep2/sources_list.py", line 477, in create_default
    matcher = DataSourceMatcher.create_default(os_override=os_override)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/rosdep2/sources_list.py", line 228, in create_default
    os_name, os_version, os_codename = os_detect.detect_os()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/rospkg/os_detect.py", line 404, in detect_os
    raise OsNotDetected("Could not detect OS, tried %s"%attempted)
OsNotDetected: Could not detect OS, tried ['ubuntu', 'rhel', 'osx', 'opensuse', 'mint', 'gentoo', 'freebsd', 'fedora', 'debian', 'cygwin', 'arch']


Davinci
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 11:02 am

Re: ROS on RPi

Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:34 pm

jeem wrote:I successfully installed ROS Fuerte ROS-Full layer on Raspbian.

Here is an image of my SD card :
ROS Fuerte - Raspbian

It comes just with ROS-Full and its dependencies installed.
Because the build process is really long I thought it could help some of us to have a basic just-ROS-Full installation image.
The next step is to get more ros stacks installed.
Thanks for the image! I have one error with it however. It can't determine which OS I am using, how did you fix this? (forgive me if this is basic stuff, I just started)

Code: Select all

ERROR: Rosdep experienced an internal error: Could not detect OS, tried ['ubuntu', 'rhel', 'osx', 'opensuse', 'mint', 'gentoo', 'freebsd', 'fedora', 'debian', 'cygwin', 'arch']
Please go to the rosdep page [1] and file a bug report with the stack trace below.
[1] : http://www.ros.org/wiki/rosdep

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/rosdep2/main.py", line 111, in rosdep_main
    exit_code = _rosdep_main(args)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/rosdep2/main.py", line 232, in _rosdep_main
    return _package_args_handler(command, parser, options, args)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/rosdep2/main.py", line 255, in _package_args_handler
    lookup = _get_default_RosdepLookup(options)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/rosdep2/main.py", line 102, in _get_default_RosdepLookup
    verbose=options.verbose)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/rosdep2/sources_list.py", line 477, in create_default
    matcher = DataSourceMatcher.create_default(os_override=os_override)
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/rosdep2/sources_list.py", line 228, in create_default
    os_name, os_version, os_codename = os_detect.detect_os()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/rospkg/os_detect.py", line 404, in detect_os
    raise OsNotDetected("Could not detect OS, tried %s"%attempted)
OsNotDetected: Could not detect OS, tried ['ubuntu', 'rhel', 'osx', 'opensuse', 'mint', 'gentoo', 'freebsd', 'fedora', 'debian', 'cygwin', 'arch']

bstag
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 11:50 pm

Re: ROS on RPi

Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:51 pm

try to set this before you run ros.

export ROS_OS_OVERRIDE=debian:squeeze

User avatar
mkopack
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:46 pm

Re: ROS on RPi

Wed Aug 08, 2012 8:59 pm

Yeah, probably a good idea to just put that into your .profile at the bottom so it gets run every time...

bstag
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 11:50 pm

Re: ROS on RPi

Thu Aug 09, 2012 4:21 am

mkopack wrote:Awesome!

I hope my initial pains helped you somewhat along the way...

I have a Turtlebot setup here at the office that I built last summer that I'd like to redo with an RPi (or 2) as the brain instead of the big heavy power hungry laptop we were using. This will go a long way towards helping with that.

Great job!

--Mike
Started down that road. Warning frame rate on the kinect is crazy slow. I am using a 530 converted over to a turtlebot platform. It the 3rd one in my house so it is a way back burner project.

User avatar
mkopack
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:46 pm

Re: ROS on RPi

Thu Aug 09, 2012 2:01 pm

Yeah, I've heard... I've considered either:

1) using a Pandaboard ES that I have
or
2) switching to the Asus XTion sensor instead

We'll see...

bstag
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 11:50 pm

Re: ROS on RPi

Thu Aug 09, 2012 2:45 pm

mkopack wrote:Yeah, I've heard... I've considered either:

1) using a Pandaboard ES that I have
or
2) switching to the Asus XTion sensor instead

We'll see...
I have a xtion also I can plug it in and test. Not sure that would increase the frame rate any. I guess anything is better the 2-3 FPS but unless it gets into the 15-30's. It will be just a toy and not of any real use. Pandaboard works fine in this case still slower then a referb laptop strapped to it. I am sure over time that will change. Maybe if I put it over the new rosserial that uses wifi as a message and process it on the workstation and just use the Rpi as a bridge.

User avatar
mkopack
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 8:46 pm

Re: ROS on RPi

Thu Aug 09, 2012 2:53 pm

From what I've read in the other thread on here about getting the Kinect working, the Xtion works better, but I could be mis-understanding what they're saying. If nothing else, the XTion uses WAY less power and only ties up 1 USB, not USB+aux power, so less cables to deal with, and it's smaller and lighter.

The Pandaboard - I have one, but haven't done much of anything with it. The support for it is HORRIBLE compared to the RPi. Just trying to get an OS up on it is hell, and what pre-built OS images they have for it are utter PIGS. But it does have more processing power and RAM than the RPi, and enough USB ports to do some interesting stuff, especially given all the things I have plugged in on my Turtlebot (using it as a telepresence robot, so there's a USB monitor, Webcam, and speaker plugged in, in addition to the Kinect and Roomba interface...

hitcher404
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 11:36 pm

Re: ROS on RPi

Thu Aug 16, 2012 9:13 pm

bstag wrote: Started down that road. Warning frame rate on the kinect is crazy slow. I am using a 530 converted over to a turtlebot platform. It the 3rd one in my house so it is a way back burner project.
Sorry for OT, but are you saying you have the kinect working on rpi?

Care to share what voodoo you used over in the kinect thread:
http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewt ... ct#p148279

Have compiled openni_camera and image_view on fuerte, exact same results with kinect as the other drivers (libfreenect & SensorKinect) no actual image/depth data published. Cant see why ROS would produce any different results as it uses libusb just like the others.

pax
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 4:29 pm

Re: ROS on RPi

Fri Aug 24, 2012 1:11 pm

jeem wrote:I successfully installed ROS Fuerte ROS-Full layer on Raspbian.

Here is an image of my SD card :
ROS Fuerte - Raspbian

It comes just with ROS-Full and its dependencies installed.
Because the build process is really long I thought it could help some of us to have a basic just-ROS-Full installation image.
The next step is to get more ros stacks installed.
Great work! Does this image include the Primesense drivers for the Asus Xtion? I've had some troubles with mine, but I'm not sure yet if it's a driver or a USB hub issue.

shnomin
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 3:46 am

Re: ROS on RPi

Tue Aug 28, 2012 8:33 pm

jeem,

Thank you so much. It took me 3 hours just to compile half of the underlay. You saved me so much time.

Return to “Automation, sensing and robotics”