OXp1845
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 7:37 pm

RF-transmitter Newbie-question

Mon Oct 21, 2013 8:22 pm

Hi

I recently followed Skagmo's wonderful guide http://www.skagmo.com/page.php?p=projects/22_pihat on how to control Nexa-sockets in your house and got it to work, pretty awesome. Today however I received my first breakout board and cables and wanted to enhance the signal I got from Skagmo's PiHat program with my brand new RF-transmitter. However, being very new to electronics, I'm not really sure how to plug it in. This is what my transmitter (https://www.electrokit.com/tx433n-sanda ... -mhz.45094) looks like:

Image

This is how I plugged breakout board looks like:

Image

When I plug a cable into the the 4th pin it works perfectly (could I change what pin I am using? Not sure if anyone has taken a closer look at Skagmo's code)

Image

If you watch the video Mr. Skagmo warns you from actually using the current setup. Is there any other way I could achieve the same result with my new transmitter? Any other guide that is worth taking a look at?

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
redhawk
Posts: 3465
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 2:13 pm
Location: ::1

Re: RF-transmitter Newbie-question

Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:18 pm

According to the documentation the TX pins are:
1: GND (goes to GPIO ground rail)
2: data in (connected to GPIO 4)
3: Vcc (to either +3.3v or +5v supply rail)
4: ANT (antenna wire, needs to be approximately 16.4cm in length)

Richard S.

OXp1845
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: RF-transmitter Newbie-question

Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:00 am

Thanks Richard!

I'm trying to get this guide to work (it starts on page 8 http://issuu.com/themagpi/docs/issue_8_final), but am not having any luck... I plugged the GPIO7 pin to my "data in" on my transmitter. Not sure if I need to use a resistor here...

Anyone who has tried this guide with Nexa sockets or another brand which is not the same as in the guide?

User avatar
jpoilux
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:43 pm
Contact: Website

Re: RF-transmitter Newbie-question

Tue Oct 22, 2013 2:25 pm

RF433 is not easy.
this as help me to learn:
http://blog.idleman.fr/raspberry-pi-12- ... -distance/

and finaly, i'm using this:
https://github.com/pilight/pilight
http://www.ms-robot.com

OXp1845
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: RF-transmitter Newbie-question

Tue Oct 22, 2013 3:19 pm

Thanks for answering!

Well it looked like a promising guide, too I don't speak french :( .

What kind of sockets are you remote controlling? Did you plug it in like the guide showed you?

The step that I am having trouble grasping is how to actually send the signal and what signal it should be. I know Skagmo was able to send the correct signal, but then again not sure if I can send the same signal through my transmitter. I saw a guy doing what I want to accomplish with an arduino. The code is here but I don't know how to configure it for a raspberry pi: https://code.google.com/p/homeeasyhacki ... nk/Arduino


Thanks.

User avatar
jpoilux
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 1:43 pm
Contact: Website

Re: RF-transmitter Newbie-question

Tue Oct 22, 2013 3:36 pm

Nexa used the HomeEasy protocol.
So pilight can normaly controled this socket.

I'm using DIO/chacon modules with the same RF433 TX/RX as in PiMAG
http://www.ms-robot.com

OXp1845
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 7:37 pm

Re: RF-transmitter Newbie-question

Tue Oct 22, 2013 9:47 pm

Thanks again for the replies.

I really liked the pilight project you mentioned! It has a great website. Unfortunately I did not get my setup to work with it either... Not sure if I've plugged in everything correctly...

However, I did read a bit more on their protocol-part of their site. It showed the binary-code which (I guess) could be used in the other program I mentioned: https://gist.github.com/ottve507/7108105. I like this program since it is so simple... In the link you might see that I've modified the code for switch 1 to the binary-code I found on pilight: http://wiki.pilight.org/doku.php/arctech_switch

According to the Magpi issue, http://issuu.com/themagpi/docs/issue_8_final, this is the setup I guess you would like to have for the transmitter:

Image

Updated picture (closer)

Image

Transmitter (the one I showed in the previous post) plugged in:

Image

So I guess the problem can be:
- I've wired incorrectly
- The code I'm sending is incorrect
- I have the wrong sleeptime (variable in the code when sending)

thienson30
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:53 am

Re: RF-transmitter Newbie-question

Sun Oct 27, 2013 8:01 pm

on Ebay, it selling similiar module and software ... the software can control up to 1000 channels ... check it out just search on ebay for rfCommandMe

CurlyMo
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 6:25 pm

Re: RF-transmitter Newbie-question

Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:44 am

Can you guys post any problem on pilight on the pilight website so i can help you further. Most problems have successfully been solved.

Return to “Automation, sensing and robotics”