mtrompe2

Sump pump alarm

Mon Apr 29, 2019 9:29 pm

Hey everyone, Im going to start off by saying that I am completely new to this honestly I have never programmed before. I have a project in mind that I would like to do but I need some assistance. I would like to make a monitoring and alarm system for the sump pump in my house. Here is what I would like it to do. 1. Send a text message and or an email to me when the water becomes to high. and 2. set off an audible alarm in the basement (which is a 24v general alarm horn strobe) also when the water becomes to high. Any advice on how to go about doing this would be greatly appreciated!

Icosagon

Re: Sump pump alarm

Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:38 am

Hello

If you want to water measure water level you can use an ultrasonic sensor
and for the alarm a motor driver. Motor driver is used for controlling heavy load items other than leds
And you can use ssmtp to send email

How to use Ultrasonic https://projects.raspberrypi.org/en/pro ... mputing/14
How to use SSMTP https://raspberry-projects.com/pi/softw ... end-emails
How to use Motor Driver https://howchoo.com/g/mjg5ytzmnjh/contr ... spberry-pi

You can use python to code this, python is easier to learn

pcmanbob

Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:35 am

Hi.

For water level detection you could use a simple float switch if all you need is to detect when the water level has reached a set level, simple and reliable.

example
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Tank-Pool-Ho ... SweWVXe8GI

This can be connected to the pi gpio the same as any other switch, I suggest you look a the physical computing pages on the raspberry pi web site
https://projects.raspberrypi.org/en/pro ... -computing

You can also send email directly from python using smtplib and a gmail account. ( I would suggest you set up a new account just for the pi to use as you will need to enable less secure apps on the account )
https://stackabuse.com/how-to-send-emai ... ng-python/

example of code to send simple alert mail.