Archiv3r

Help with analog inputs, 0-5V sensors

Sat Apr 20, 2019 7:30 pm

Hello,

I am working on a project where I will have 3 analog sensor inputs, and according to them I will either open or close the motorized ball valve.
2 of those are pressure sensors with output range 0-4.5 V
1 is a temperature sensor that can work either on 0-3.3V or 0-5V.

:!: pressure sensor - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Thread-Stainle ... ay&sr=8-15

:!: temp sensor - https://www.amazon.co.uk/MXECO-Waterpro ... way&sr=8-1

:!: motorised valve - https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00 ... S4VD&psc=1

From what I understood Pi cannot read analog inputs so I need ADC before it. I found some tutorials online but they all seem complicated and involve doing some wiring (i am not an electrical engineer) like MCP3008 and ADS1115. :o
Then I found this - https://thepihut.com/products/adc-pizero
Which seems like a solution to my problem, it is an ADC with 4 input ports that can work with 5V.
interested in your opinions and critique.

Kind Regards,
Arch

JohnsUPS

Re: Help with analog inputs, 0-5V sensors

Sun Apr 21, 2019 12:23 am

In the case of the pressure transducer, consider how it is to be used.

For example, if you want to have different things happen when the pressure transducer is seeing different pressures (like how much air pressure is in a tank and you want a variable readout of the pressure), then you'd probably want and ADC in front of the Pi because you're looking at the whole analog range.