Starscream205

Brian the robot

Tue Mar 12, 2019 6:21 pm

Hi everyone,

I’ve started a new project turning a promotional car insurance robot into an actual robot. I just wanted some feedback and any tips or constructive criticism that you have to offer. I’ve been writing a rough blog about it here:

http://raspberryrobotics.home.blog/2019 ... the-robot/

I’ve pretty much winged it so far but I’m having trouble with how I am going to fit the motor assembly underneath the robot, but apart from that let me know what you think :) but bear in mind that I’m an amateur and literally just blindly flailing through this project.

Andyroo

Re: Brian the robot

Tue Mar 12, 2019 6:40 pm

Like it - better than the set of videos converting it for voice :lol:

Could you cheat and put it on a plinth with a posh cover draped over the stand and put the drive in that?

Starscream205

Tue Mar 12, 2019 10:08 pm

Agreed :D adding an automatic voice that plays the original sound chip seems like a massive waste of robot! I hadn’t thought of the plinth idea, I’ll have a look into it

omegaman477

Wed Mar 13, 2019 3:52 pm

If your going to use RC Servos for the arms, which I agree with, to save motor interfacing, consider continuous servos for the propulsion. They are cheap and there is a huge array of wheels designed for their shafts. Most are reversible. They are just like a servo except the spin constantly at a speed you control through the standard servo interface. You can get some very powerful versions as well. The only drawback I find is they are noisey, as all servo gear trains are.

There are a number of Servo hats for the PI, providing from 8 to 16 servo channels. Check out Adafruit, I used a number of thiersin different projects. These hats make the servo timing a breeze, and your software simpler.
..the only thing worse than a stupid question is a question not asked.

scruss

Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:14 pm